Family Stories
Everyone Has A Story ...

Sunday, 25 May 2025

John Byatt and Elizabeth Leaper

St. Mary's Church and churchyard, Churchgate, EN8
cc-by-sa/2.0 - © Mike Quinn - geograph.org.uk/p/4220309

John Byatt (bap. 3 Oct 1819 in Little Canfield, Essex) son of John Byatt and Jane Stokes, married Elizabeth Leaper (b. 10 Sep 1825, bap. 9 Oct 1825 in Aldenham, Hertfordshire) daughter of John Leaper and Mary Hayes at St. Mary's Church, Cheshunt, Hertfordshire on 25 May 1845.

John and Elizabeth had ten children:
  1. John Edward Byatt b. 23 Mar 1846 J Quarter in EDMONTON Volume 03 Page 141, bap. 12 Apr 1846 in Cheshunt, Hertfordshire
  2. George Byatt b. 3 Jan 1848 M Quarter in EDMONTON Volume 03 Page 132, bap. 13 Feb 1848 in Cheshunt, Hertfordshire
  3. William Byatt b. 20 Jan 1850 M Qtr in EDMONTON Vol 03 Page 144
  4. Charles Byart b. 1 Aug 1852 S Qtr in SHOREDITCH Vol 01C Page 149
  5. Elizabeth Byart b. 1854 D Quarter in SHOREDITCH Vol 01C Page 125
  6. Jane Byart b. 3 Nov 1856 D Quarter in SHOREDITCH Vol 01C Page 140
  7. Emma Byart b. 1859 S Quarter in WHITECHAPEL Vol 01C Page 338
  8. Thomas Byart b. 1861 J Quarter in ISLINGTON Vol 01B Page 290
  9. Louisa Byart b. 1863 D Quarter in BETHNAL GREEN Vol 01C Page 323
  10. Ellen Byart b. 1866 J Quarter in BETHNAL GREEN Vol 01C Page 329
The first three children were registered correctly under the surname Byatt, then thereafter they changed the spelling to Byart. Their mother's maiden name is consistently LEAPER (misspelled on William's as LEARPER). 

In 1861, John Byart (42) Carman from Dunmow, Essex, was in City Gardens, Islington with Elizabeth Byart (36) from Watford, Hertfordshire; John E Byart (15) Lucifer Match Maker (the production of Lucifer matches later caused the Bryant & May Match Workers Strike); George Byart (13), William Byart (11), Charles Byart (9), Elizabeth Byart (6), Jane Byart (4) & Emma Byart (2).

In 1871, John Byart (51) Carman was living in Mile End Old Town with Elizabeth Byart (48), John Byart (25) Engine Driver; Charles Byart (19) Horse Keeper; Thomas Byart (17) Scholar; Elizabeth Byart (16), Jane Byart (14), Louisa Byart (8) and Helen (sic) Byart (4).

In 1881, at 16, Alma Road, Mile End Old Town, London misspelled again as John Byard (sic) (63) Carman from Essex; Elizabeth (58) from Hertfordshire; Jane (24), Thomas (20), Julia [Louisa] (18), Ellen (15), John (35) and Jane (39) (John [Edward] Byart had married Jane Dove, in Poplar, in 1876.)

In 1891, John Byart (72) birthplace wrongly listed as Brentwood, Essex, was living in the household of Josiah Ayris (32) Carman in St Ann's Road, Mile End Old Town. Josiah was his son-in-law, second husband of daughter Emma. This took some deciphering, because John Byart's wife is inexplicably listed as Sarah and Emma was listed as Ann. Were they or the enumerator drunk? 

John Byatt died at 72 in 1892 J Quarter in MILE END OLD TOWN Volume 01C Page 344 and Elizabeth Byart died at 73, in 1898 D Quarter in MILE END OLD TOWN Volume 01C Page 306.

Saturday, 24 May 2025

Joseph Kritzer and Sarah Sophia Tompson

St Wilfrid's, Chelsea

Joseph Kritzer (b. 30 Oct 1877 in Donaueschingen, Germany), son of Wilhelm Kritzer and Flora Gleichauf, married Sarah Sophia Tompson (b. 9 Oct 1876 in Mile End Old Town, Stepney), eldest surviving daughter of Dan Tompson and Sarah Jane Baker, on 24 May 1905 in Whittlesey, Cambridgeshire.

The couple had two children:

  1. William Karl Tompson b. 1903 aboard the SS Kaiser Wilhelm II at Lat 40.45N/Long 56.52W, bap. 9 Dec 1903, at St Matthew, Stepney.
  2. Mary Amalie Kritzer b. 21 Feb 1906. (No baptism found.)

Their daughter, Mary Amalie Kritzer was born on 21 Feb 1906, but she was not the couple's first child. On the census for the household of Sarah's parents, Dan and Sarah Jane Tompson, in 1911, there had appeared a 'mystery' grandchild listed as William Charles Kritzer (7) (although his surname was originally mis-transcribed at Findmypast as Roizen, which added to the confusion in tracking him down), who it says, was born in 1904 'At Sea'. The boy was born, actually in 1903, aboard the SS Kaiser Wilhelm II at Lat 40.45N/Long 56.52W, off the coast of North America. (Launched at Stettin, Germany (now Szczecin, Poland), on 12 Aug 1902, the SS Kaiser Wilhelm II made regular trips between Germany and New York City.)

Baptised, William Karl Tompson, on 9 Dec 1903, at the church of St Matthew, Stepney, on the baptism record, his mother is listed just as Daisy (as she appears to have called herself), with their abode listed as 3 Monteagle Street, Stepney - the same address given by her half-sister (my great-grandmother), Eliza Louisa, at the time of her marriage some 10 years earlier. There are lots of crossings out on the original baptism record, as it would appear that Sarah / Daisy had initially tried to baptise the child with the surname Kritzer, listing his father's forename as William and occupation as Valet. The church officials must have figured out the real situation and hence this information was redacted/corrected. (Birth and baptism information was provided to me by Christine Miller of the wonderfully named, GIN AND GENEALOGY.)

In 1911, Joseph Kritzer (33), was butler to architect, Henry Louis Florence at 9 Prince's Gate, Knightsbridge, London. In that household also was a Rosina Christie, employed as a housemaid. She was listed as single, but her year of birth agrees with that of Sarah Sophia - 1876 - born in Whitechapel. (Sarah Sophia's birth was registered in Mile End Old Town, which is next door, both in Stepney; later, Sarah Sophia is referred to as Mrs J Christie in her father's obituary, and both of Joseph and Sarah's children later use Christie as an Anglicized version of Kritzer.) Therefore, I'm convinced that this is Sarah using this assumed name to hide the fact that she was married to Joseph, which was more than likely verboten for servants then. Sarah Sophia / Daisy Tompson / Kritzer / Christie isn't anywhere else in 1911. Mary Amalia Kritzer (5) was an 'Inmate' at St Wilfrid's Convent School in Cale Street, Chelsea.

On 18 Oct 1912, Willie Thompson (8), sailed to Montreal from Liverpool aboard SS Corsican with his grandmother, Sarah Jane, and his aunt Ivy.

In 1915, Joseph Kritzer (37), was interned at Knockaloe Internment Camp Isle of Man as part of the mass internment of registered Enemy Alien men aged between 17 and 55 following the sinking of the Lusitania in May 1915. Joseph’s Prisoner of War Information Bureau (POWIB) Index Card (available from the ICRC website), shows that he was interned on 31 Jul 1915. We still don't know when he was released or what happened to him later, although, all the pointers are towards him being repatriated to Germany. "Former enemy aliens were to be deported, unless granted a licence to remain", however, hiding their marriage, in 1911 (albeit likely necessary for their employment), could have created the predicament that Joseph and Sarah will not have been able to demonstrate that they had lived together in a genuine relationship prior to the war, the result of which may have prevented Joseph from obtaining such permission to return to the UK upon his release.

As she had married a German, Sarah Sophia had become German and would also have been subject to the restrictions of the Aliens Restriction Act 1914: As the law was at this time, British-born women who had married foreign nationals (who had not naturalised) - unlike his brother Karl, Joseph did not become naturalised British - acquired their husband’s nationality. Many British born women therefore found themselves to be enemy aliens during the war. Except in a very few cases women were not interned. [Source]

In 1921, Joseph Kritzer was not listed in England. Nor was Sarah Sophia, but Daisy Christie (39) Servant, Laundress, born in Stepney, London was at the Royal School For Deaf and Dumb Children, Margate, Kent, who I'm sure was her. On the 1921 Census of Canada, Willie Christie (18) was living at 131 Morrison Avenue, Toronto, still with his grandparents. (At Ancestry, there's a note saying he should be Critzer, which is obviously not quite true, but the spelling they later adopted). [Mary Amalie] Molly Kritzer (15), was an Inmate at St Edwards Residential College, Totteridge, Middlesex (St Edward's School for Roman Catholic Girls), along with her cousin, Flora Kritzer (15).

On immigration documents (to Canada) for her sister Mabel Grace in 1922, Sarah Sophia was listed as 'Daisy Christie of Trosley Towers, Withham, Kent'. This was the country home of Sir Philip Hickson Waterlow, Mabel's former employer, so presumably Daisy [Sarah] was then employed there.

In 1939 'Daisy' S S Kritzer, Housekeeper, still listed as married, was living at 1 Pemry Villas, Elm Grove Road, Cobham, Surrey with her widowed sister, Mabel Grace Stedman; Mabel's daughter, Laura May Martin, and Gerald O Weston, a mechanic and lorry driver, who may have been a lodger. 

Sarah Sophia Kritzer, of 2 Ashford Cottages, Tilt Road, Cobham, Surrey, wife of Joseph Kritzer, died, aged 68, on 20 Feb 1945 (1945 M Quarter in SURREY NORTH-EASTERN Volume 02A; Page 86). She left £595 13s (worth £25,849 in 2020) to her daughter, Mary Amelia Melhuish

Other than those last records in 1939 and 1945 relating to Sarah - where she's described as married and as his wife - thereby alluding to Joseph Kritzer still being alive, there's no further sign of him in Britain, once again supporting the theory that Joseph was probably returned (deported) back to Germany.

There are still so many questions that need to be answered.

John Rookley and Mary Ayres

Kentisbeare : Priest Hill
cc-by-sa/2.0 - © Lewis Clarke - geograph.org.uk/p/3707225

John Rookley (bap. 9 Jan 1797 in Kentisbeare, Devon), son of James Rookley and Thomazin Salter, married Mary Ayres (bap. 13 Jun 1800 in Kentisbeare), daughter of Zachariah Ayres and Mary Farnell, on 24 May 1820 at St Mary's ChurchKentisbeare. Witnesses were William Ayres and Charles Knight.

Records suggest John and Mary Rookley had 13 children:
  1. Mary Ann Rookley bap. 8 Oct 1820 (Residence: Picksey Pool)
  2. John Rookley Jnr b. 1822 (No baptism found)
  3. Jane Ayres Rookley bap. 18 Jan 1824 (Residence: Little Silver)
  4. James Rookley bap. 20 Aug 1826 (Residence: Crosses)
  5. Emma Rookley bap. 1829 in Kentisbeare
  6. Elizabeth Ruckley (sic) bap. 13 Feb 1831
  7. William Rookley bap. 3 Feb 1833 (Residence: Town)
  8. Sarah Ruckley (sic) bap. 24 May 1835 (Residence: Little Silver)
  9. Henry Ruckley (sic) bap. 18 Jun 1837 (Residence: Crosses)
  10. Thomas Rookley b. 1839 J Quarter in TIVERTON AND DULVERTON Volume 10 Page 257 bap. 14 Apr 1839.
  11. Thomasin Rookley b. 1841 M Quarter in TIVERTON AND DULVERTON Volume 10 Page 258 bap. 28 Feb 1841
  12. Eliza Rookley b. 1843 J Quarter in TIVERTON AND DULVERTON Volume 10 Page 250 bap. 30 Apr 1843
  13. Anna Rookley b. 1845 J Quarter in TIVERTON AND DULVERTON Volume 10 Page 266 bap. 1 Jun 1845
All Civil Birth registrations list the surname as Ruckley (doubtlessly, as a result of illiteracy and the Devon accent - on William's baptism the curate has written "Rookley, or as they say Ruckley") and the mother's maiden name as Ayres. On the baptisms of Mary Ann, Jane Ayres and James, John Rookley's occupation is described as a Husbandman (a person who cultivates the land; a farmer), obviously employed casually, but on those of Elizabeth, William, Sarah, Henry, Thomas, Thomasin, Eliza and Anna, he's a Labourer.

In 1841, John Ruckley (45) was in the Devon County House Of Correction, St David's, Exeter, having earned a 6 month sentence for Larceny. Mary and the children don't appear anywhere on this census that I can find.

We do find the family in 1851, when they are listed, unhelpfully, as living in "Village, Kentisbeare". John Rookley (56) is a Farmer of 22 Acres, with the household consisting wife Mary (52), William (19) and Henry (12) Employed on the farm; Thomas (10), Thomasin (8), Eliza (6) and Hannah (Anna) (4).

Mary Rookley died at 59 in 1859 J Quarter in TIVERTON Volume 05B Page 282 and was buried on 27 Apr 1859 in Kentisbeare churchyard.

In 1861, listed as John Rockley (sic) (67), widowed, Retired Farmer, was living at Gaddford Hills, Kentisbeare, Devon.

In 1871, John Rookley (78), Farm Labourer, was living at "Moor, Kentisbeare" (Kentis Moor) in the household of James and Thomasin Ridgeway

John Rookely died, still said to be aged 78, in 1871 J Quarter in TIVERTON Volume 05B Page 279 and was buried on 14 May 1871, in Kentisbeare.

Isaac Horn and Maria Agnes Thaxter

St. George-in-the-East
cc-by-sa/2.0 - © David Williams - geograph.org.uk/p/3844118

Isaac Horn (b. 21 Aug 1803, bap. 3 Aug 1806 in Thatcham, Berkshire), son of John Horn and Lucy Buckeridge, married Maria Agnes Thaxter (b. 6 Jan 1824 and bap. 21 Mar 1824 at St George in the East, Stepney), daughter of William Thaxter, Labourer in the East India Docks and his wife, Maria, at Christ Church Watney Street, St George in the East, on 24 May 1842. The groom, listed as a bachelor, will have been 39, while Maria was 18. Witnesses were James Massey and Amelia Thaxter, the latter I believe was Maria's sister.

Isaac and Maria had seven children:

  1. William Horn b. 14 Oct 1842 D Quarter in ST GEORGE IN THE EAST Volume 02 Page 103, bap. 13 Nov 1842 at St George in the East
  2. John Isaac Horn b. 18 Jul 1845 S Quarter in ST GEORGE IN THE EAST Volume 02 Page 109, bap. 31 Aug 1845, as John Isaac Robert Horn
  3. George James Horn b. 16 Feb 1848 M Quarter in ST GEORGE IN THE EAST Vol 02 Page 132, bap. 5 Mar 1848. Died before his 1st birthday in 1849 M Quarter in ST GEORGE IN THE EAST Vol 02 Page 99
  4. Edmund Horn b. 1851 M Quarter in ST GEORGE IN THE EAST Volume 02 Page 128. Died, aged 2, in 1853 M Quarter Vol 01C Page 340
  5. Isaac Richard Horn b. 4 July 1856 S Quarter in ST GEORGE IN THE EAST Vol 01C Page 406, bap. 27 Jul 1856 at St George in the East
  6. Lucy Ann Horn b. 1858 M Qtr in ST GEORGE IN THE EAST Vol 01C 452
  7. Maria Lucy Horn b. 1862 J Quarter in ST GEORGE IN THE EAST Volume 01C Page 452. Died in 1862 J Quarter Volume 01C Page 314
All of the GRO birth registrations confirm the mother's maiden name of THAXTER. On all of the baptisms, Isaac Horn is listed as a Plumber. On William's baptism in 1842, their address was 39 Lower Cornwell St and on John's in 1845, 29 Lower Cornwell St. On George's baptism in 1848, their address was 5 Back Road and on Isaac's in 1856, it was 5 China Place. 

In 1851, at China Place, Back Road (so the addresses on George's and Isaac's baptisms was the same place), were Isaac Horn (46) Plumber, although it gave his birthplace a Chippenham, Wiltshire; Maria Horn (27) Coffee Shop Keeper; William Horn (8), John Horn (5) and Edwin [they mean Edmund] (0).

Coffee Houses were a thing of the 17th and 18th centuries, places that no “respectable” woman was able to enter and many were haunts for criminals and prostitutes. By the 19th century, coffee houses had declined.

In 1861, at 5, Back Road, St George in the East, were Isaac Horn (56) Plumber and Painter, again with his birthplace listed as Chippenham, Wiltshire; Maria Horn (listed as 51, but she was only 37); William Horn (18) Plumber; John Horn (16) Plumber; Isaac Horn (5) and Lucy Horn (3).

Maria Horn died, at 39, in 1862 D Quarter in SAINT GEORGE IN THE EAST Volume 01C Page 367.

In 1871, Isaac Horn (67) Widower, was Coffee House Keeper at 333 Cable Street. Living with him were William Horn (24) Plumber; Isaac Horn (15) Plumber and Lucy Horn (14). At one time each part of the street bore different names, with Back Road being one of them, so it seems likely they'd been in the same premises since at least 1848. Isaac's birthplace is once again listed as Thatcham, Berkshire. Why it had previously been given as Chippenham, Wiltshire, isn't obvious, but twice isn't an error. The two places are around 50 miles apart. It does appear that Thatcham is correct, however, both of his parents had died by 1810, so perhaps he was brought up in Chippenham.

Isaac Horn, age overestimated to 75, died on 20 Mar 1874 (1874 M Quarter in SAINT GEORGE IN THE EAST Volume 01C Page 328).

Friday, 23 May 2025

Robert Hawkins and Ann Shewbrooks

Richard Huish Homes
cc-by-sa/2.0 - © Neil Owen - geograph.org.uk/p/3630521
One of Taunton's leading merchants of old, Richard Huish left money for the establishment of homes 'for 13 poor, needy, maimed, impotent and aged men'. The buildings were completed in 1615, the year Huish died; during the nineteenth century, much rebuilding was carried out. 

Robert Hawkins (b. 3 May 1803, bap. 29 May 1803 in Taunton, Somerset), son of Robert Hawkins and Mary Summerhays, married Ann Shewbrooks (bap. 31 Jul 1791, in Taunton), daughter of Edward Shoebrooks and Mary Sparke, at St Mary Magdalene (Taunton Minster), on 23 May 1824.

Robert and Ann had one daughter:
  1. Mary Hawkins bap. 13 Jul 1828 at St Mary Magdalene, Taunton.
On Mary's baptism, Robert's occupation is listed as Bricklayer and their address given as Paul Street, Taunton.

In 1841, Robert Hawkins (37) Journeyman Mason, Ann Hawkins (49) and Mary Hawkins (12) were living in High Street, Taunton.

In 1851, we find Robert Hawkins (48) Mason and Ann Hawkins (60).

In 1861, at 3 Tailer Court, High Street, are Robert Hawkins (59) Bricklayer and Ann Hawkins (70) Glover (leather).

Ann Hawkins died at 72, in 1862 J Qtr in TAUNTON Vol 05C Page 279.

In 1871, Robert Hawkins (67) Widower, Mason was at Huishs Almshouse.

In 1881, Robert Hawkins (80) Widower, Mason, was still living at Huish Alms Houses (now Huish Homes), 2, Magdalen Street, Taunton.

Robert Hawkins died in 1886 D Qtr in TAUNTON Vol 05C Page 260.

Tuesday, 20 May 2025

John Jerred and Frances Ann Orchard

Thorverton: Cherry Tree
cc-by-sa/2.0 - © Martin Bodman - geograph.org.uk/p/404160

John Jerred (bap. 15 Feb 1835 in Thorverton) son of Joseph Jerred and Sarah Elsworthy, married Frances Ann Orchard (bap. 3 Jul 1831 in Dulverton, Somerset), daughter of James Orchard and Elizabeth How, on 20 May 1862, at the Parish Church of St Thomas a Becket, Thorverton, Devon, as both resided in the parish. John's occupation was listed on marriage as Cooper.

John and Frances Orchard had two children:
  1. Lewis Jerrad (sic) b. 19 Mar 1863 (1863 J Quarter in TIVERTON Volume 05B Page 434) in Silverton, Devon
  2. Frances Mary Jerrad (sic) b. 3 May 1869 (1869 J Quarter in SAINT THOMAS Volume 05B Page 66)
In 1871, at Bishops Court LodgeSowton Village, St Thomas, Devon, were John Jerrad (sic) (35) Gardener (Bishop’s Court) from Thoverton, Devon; Frances A Jerrad (39) Ag keeper from Dulverton; Louis Jerrad (8) from Silverton, Devon and Frances M Jerrad (2) born in Heavitree, Devon.

In 1881, at Church Cottage, Halberton were John Jerred (46) Agricultural Labourer; Frances A Jerred (49), Frances M Jerred (11) and George Davey (14) from Uplowman, Devon, Lodger. Louis Jerred (18) was Baker's Apprentice in Angel Hill, Tiverton, to George Hannabus, Master Confectioner from Cadbury, Devon (shoulda named his business after his village). 

In 1891, John Jerred (56), still working as an Ag Lab, and Frances Ann Jerred (59) were living at Court Cottage, Corner, Halberton. Frances Mary Jerred (24) was Servant to Alfred T Gregory in Alsa Terrace, Tiverton.

In 1901, John (66), once more working as a gardener, and Frances Ann (69), had moved into the centre of Tiverton to 12, Hammetts Square. Frances Mary Jerred (31) was working as a Cook for Rev. Donald M Owen, Clergyman in the Church of England, at 25, Bampton Street, Tiverton. (That address is now an ugly modern building in use as the Royal Mail Tiverton Delivery Office.)

In 1911, John Jerred (78) and Frances Jerred (79), were living at 1 The Fords Homes, Old Blundells, Gold Street, Tiverton, Devon. (Alms Houses?) This confirmed they'd been married 49 years and had two children, both still living.

John Jerred died, aged 78, in 1911 J Qtr in TIVERTON Vol 05B Page 263.

Frances Ann Gerrod (sic) died at 87 in 1919 M Qtr Vol 05B 693.

James Wood and Mary Ann Melhuish

Broadhembury
cc-by-sa/2.0 - © David Stowell - geograph.org.uk/p/6855

James Wood (bap. 2 Aug 1857 in Kentisbeare), son of James Wood and Harriet Gollop, married Mary Ann Melhuish (b. ~1864) on 20 May 1883 at St. Mary’sKentisbeare. The spaces for Mary Ann's father are left blank on the marriage certificate who consistently said she was born in Clayhidon, Devon. (There was a Mary Ann Melhuish born illegitimately to an Elizabeth Melhuish, on 12 Mar 1863 (1863 J Quarter in WELLINGTON SOMERSET AND DEVON Volume 05C Page 445), but that birth was in Hemyock.) Were they connected to Mary Jane Melhuish, who James' elder brother Henry had married.

James and Mary Ann had 11 children:
  1. Robert Wood b. 1883 S Quarter in TIVERTON Volume 05B Page 404, bap. 12 Jul 1885 in Kentisbeare (Baptised at 18 months old.) 
  2. Sarah Ann Wood b. 1885 S Quarter in TIVERTON Volume 05B Page 405, bap. 12 Jul 1885 in Kentisbeare
  3. Edith Maud Wood b. 24 Jul 1887 (1887 S Quarter in TIVERTON Volume 05B Page 421), bap. 14 Aug 1887 in Kentisbeare
  4. Harriet Mary Wood b. 23 Nov 1888 (1889 M Quarter in TIVERTON Volume 05B Page 419), bap. 13 Jan 1889 in Kentisbeare
  5. George Wood b. 30 Aug 1890 (1890 D Quarter in HONITON Volume 05B Page 13), bap. 5 Oct 1890 in Broadhembury
  6. Unnamed male Wood b. 1893 M Quarter in HONITON Volume 05B Page 16 (Died 1893 M Quarter in HONITON Volume 05B Page 14)
  7. Eldred James Wood b. 15 Mar 1894 (1894 J Quarter in HONITON Volume 05B Page 14), bap. 1 Apr 1894 in Broadhembury
  8. Mabel Wood b. 1896 S Quarter in TIVERTON Volume 05B Page 385, bap. 8 Aug 1896, marked P.B. Private Baptism, presumably at home. (Died at 21 days old (1896 S Quarter in TIVERTON Volume 05B Page 257), buried 23 Aug 1896, also in Kentisbeare)
  9. Roland Ashford Wood b. 25 Jan 1898 (1898 M Quarter in TIVERTON Volume 05B Page 384), bap. 13 Mar 1898 in Kentisbeare
  10. Reginald Leonard Wood b. 8 May 1901 (1901 J Quarter in TIVERTON Volume 05B Page 378), bap. ? 1901 in Blackborough
  11. Mabel Frances Wood b. 1904 M Quarter in TIVERTON Volume 05B Page 380 (Died at 26 days old (1904 M Quarter in TIVERTON Volume 05B Page 307), buried 17 Jan 1904 in Blackborough)
In 1891 the family were living in Broad Road, Broadhembury, Honiton with James Wood (32) Agricultural Labourer, Mary A (29), Robert (7), Sarah A (5), Edith M (3), Harriet M (2) and George (0).

In 1901, they were back in Kentisbeare at Hollis Green, with James Wood (43), Mary A (39), Edith (13), Harriet M (12), George (10), Eldred J (7) and Roland A (3). I've been unable to find either Robert or Sarah Ann. 

In 1911, at Cobblers Hall, Kentisbeare, were James Wood (53), Mary Ann (49), Sarah Ann Wood (25) Servant Cook, and Reginald Leonard Wood (9). They confirm on this census that they had 11 children during their 28 years of marriage, with 8 still living and 3 had died. Harriet Mary Wood (23) from Kentisbeare, Devon was Cook in the household of James Browning Young (63) Retired Captain Royal Navy at Wimborne Minster, Dorset.

James Wood died at 61 on 11 Nov 1918 (1918 D Quarter in TIVERTON Vol 05B Page 833) and is buried in St Mary's Churchyard, Kentisbeare.

In 1921, Mary Ann Wood (58) Widow, was living at Downlands, Kentisbeare, Devon with Roland Ashford Wood (23) & Reginald Leonard Wood (20) Farm Labourers; Sarah Ann Edmond (36) Widow; James Roland George Edmond (8) Grandson; Arthur Cecil Ronald Edmond (6) Grandson; Constance Mary Helen Edmond (4) Granddaughter and Robert Wood (37) Visitor (eldest son).

In 1939, Mary Ann Wood, Widow, was living at 15, Blackborough with her youngest son, Reginald Leonard, then employed as a Rabbit Trapper. 

Mary Ann Wood died ~91 on 6 Jan 1955 (1955 M Qtr in TIVERTON Vol 07A Page 1000) and buried with her late husband at St Mary's, Kentisbeare.

Saturday, 17 May 2025

William Thompson Wykes and Ada Doe

The Church of St. Nicholas, Deptford Green
cc-by-sa/2.0 - © David Lunn - geograph.org.uk/p/508224

William Thompson Wykes (b. 1869), son of William Wykes and Elizabeth Thompson, married Ada Doe (b. 26 May 1867 in Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk), daughter of George Doe and Susannah Gates, at St Nicholas Church, Deptford Green on 17 May 1894. Ada was born at Garland Street, Bury St Edmunds (PDF), where the family still lived in 1871, and was baptised on 20 Sep 1868 at St Edmundsbury Cathedral (parish church of St James).

William and Ada had three children:
  1. William Thompson Wykes b. 1895 M Quarter in GREENWICH Volume 01D Page 1073, bap. 22 May 1895 at St Paul's, Deptford
  2. Daisy Ann Elizabeth Wykes b. 15 Jan 1897 M Quarter in GREENWICH Volume 01D Page 1097
  3. Ada Florence Wykes b. 17 May 1905 J Quarter in SAINT OLAVE BERMONDSEY Volume 01D Page 232
All of the GRO birth registration have the mother's maiden name DOE.

In 1901, William Wykes (31) Light plater iron work, was at 5, Abinger Road, Deptford with Ada Wykes (33), William Wykes (6) and Daisy Wykes (4).

In 1911, William Wykes (41) Light iron worker was living at 12 Neckinger Street, Dockhead, Bermondsey with Ada Wykes (43), William Wykes (16) Printers layer on; Daisy Wykes (14) and Ada Wykes (5). 

William Thompson Wykes died, aged just 45, in 1915 M Quarter in GREENWICH Volume 01D Page 1586.

Private William Thompson Wykes 1st/22nd Bn London Regiment was killed in action, presumed on or since 30 Dec 1915 and is commemorated at the Loos Memorial, located near the commune of Loos-en-Gohelle, in the Pas-de-Calais département of France. The memorial lists 20,610 names of British and Commonwealth soldiers with no known grave who were killed in the area during and after the Battle of Loos, which started on 25 Sep 1915.

In 1921, Ada Wykes (53) Bath Attendant for Bermondsey Council was living at 35, St James's Road, Bermondsey, with Ada Wykes (16) Millinery and her brother, George Doe (51) from Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk, Out of Work. 

In 1939, Ada Wykes, Money Taker (Retired) (assume cashier, not criminal LOL) and Ada F Longhurst, Shop Assistant, were living at 23 Sylvan Grove, Peckham, with Stephen Mason in the household, presumably a lodger.

Ada Wykes died, aged 73, in 1940 D Qtr in CAMBERWELL Vol 01D 1299.

  • Daisy Ann Elizabeth Wykes married Frank George Collins (b. 10 Mar 1887 in Rotherhithe), son of Thomas Dederick Collins and Amelia Martha Roberts, in Southwark, in 1920. They had three children: Frank William Collins b. 1 Oct 1920; William Thomas Collins b. 6 Feb 1923 and Joan Emily Collins b. 1926. In 1939, Frank G Collins, Paint Warehouseman; Daisy A E Collins, Frank William Collins and William T Collins were living at 76 Harp Road, Ealing, where the couple remained for the rest of their lives. Frank George Collins died on 10 Aug 1973 and Daisy Ann Elizabeth Collins, on 17 Sep 1975.
  • Ada Florence Wykes married Frederick Richard Longhurst (b. 1 Feb 1912), son of Frederick William Longhurst and Hannah Eliza Warner, in Deptford, London, in 1935. In 1939, Ada F Longhurst was living with her mother, in Peckham, while Frederick Richard Longhurst was serving in the Royal Artillery. They had one son, born in 1941. Frederick Richard Longhurst died, in Lambeth, in 1992. Ada Florence Longhurst died, also in Lambeth, in 2002.

William George Beamer and Elsie May Carver

HMS Impregnable in the Hamoaze off Devonport Dockyard

William George Beamer (b. 4 Jan 1886 in East Stonehouse), son of Alfred Beamer and Mary Ann White, married Elsie May Carver (b. 22 Nov 1894, bap. 16 Dec 1894 at Holy Trinity Church), daughter of Charles Frederick Carver from Clerkenwell, London and Frances Rundle, native of Plymouth, at the Anglican Church of the Holy Trinity, which church was located in Southside Street/Friars Lane, Barbican, Plymouth, on 17 May 1916. (This church no longer exists because it was was destroyed in the Second World War.)

At 16, in 1901, William George Beamer had been a member of the crew of HMS Impregnable 1st Rate (Training Ship For Boys), in the Hamoaze, Devonport off Maker, St Germans, Cornwall. (HMS Impregnable became the Royal Navy's second boys' training ship at Devonport in 1862.)

Having signed up for a further 12 years in the Royal Navy, on 4 Feb 1903, William was discharged, invalided, on 8 Jun 1905. Then on 9 Sep 1905, he enlisted in the British Army in the Devonshire Regiment. One wonders what condition was classed as invalid for the Navy, but still fit for the Army.

Next we find William George Beamer (26), in 1911, with the 2nd Battalion Devonshire Regiment, stationed at Saint Georges Barracks, Malta. (Part of the Pembroke Army Garrison, at Pembroke, Malta, near St. Julian's.)

William George Beamer was the recipient of a Silver War Badge, having been discharged from the Machine Gun Corps on 30 Mar 1917, under King's Regulation 392 (xvi) “No longer physically fit for war service". "He has a Ministry of Pensions record card which shows him as 22105 MG, residing at 13 Walsdon Rd, Plymouth. He was discharged on 30.3.17. Cause - deafness. He was entitled to the Silver War Badge number 197170." (The Silver War Badge was designed to be worn on civilian clothes after early discharge from the army. The accompanying certificate will have read, "Served with honour and was disabled in the Great War. Honourably discharged on ...")

Elsie's younger brother, Charles Frederick Carver (b. 1898), 5th (Prince of Wales's) Battalion (Territorials), Devonshire Regiment, son of Charles F. and Frances Carver, of 5, Artizan's Dwellings, Notte St., Plymouth, was killed in action on 20 Jul 1918 and is buried at Marfaux British Cemetery, France.

In 1921, William George Beamer (35) General Labourer for the Admiralty, and Elsie M Beamer (25) were living at 13, Wolsdon Street, Plymouth.

In 1939, William G Beamer, Skilled Labourer HM Dockyard, wife Elsie M Beamer and John F Carver (b. 1902), Road Repair Labourer (Elsie's brother), were still living at 5 Artizans Dwellings, Notte Street, Plymouth - buildings in that street were destroyed in the Second World War and demolished.

William George Beamer, of 5 Artizans Dwellings, Notte Street, died on 1 Jan 1956 (1956 M Quarter in PLYMOUTH Volume 07A Page 834).

Elsie May Beamer died in the 4th quarter of 1973, aged 79.

James Wevell and Martha Wilton

Gill Street, Charters Towers, Australia - circa 1910 (Via)

James Wevell (b. 1861 M Quarter in BODMIN Volume 05C Page 92), son of William Wevell and Mary Searle, married Martha Wilton, daughter of Ann Wilton, at St George's Church, Wells Way, Camberwell, on 17 May 1884. As had her brother, Martha listed her father as an 'invented' John Wilton.

On 8 Oct 1884, James Wevell (23) and Martha Wevell (24) embarked on the SS Duke of Westminster at Gravesend, under Queensland Assisted Immigration, arriving in Brisbane on 8 Dec 1884. 

This very fulsome report in the Morning Bulletin (Rockhampton), dated Wed 10 Dec 1884, under Vessels in Harbour, details the whole voyage: 

"The Duke of Westminster, under the command of Captain D C Long, left London on the 7th October, on her third voyage to Queensland, embarked her passengers at Gravesend next day and proceeded on her voyage the same night. On the following day, at noon when abreast the Isle of Wight she encountered a strong gale from the south west, which continued until she was nearly through the Bay of Biscay; passed through the Straights of Gibraltar at 7 am on the 14th; arrived at Malta at daylight on the 19th, where she coaled and took in fresh provisions, leaving at 5 pm the same day. 

Throughout the Mediterranean she experienced fine weather, with light wind and pleasant temperature; arrived in Port Said on October 22nd at noon, and commenced coaling immediately; she also took on board sixty tons of cargo for Queensland ports; entered the Canal on the following morning; had a successful passage through, arriving at Suez on the 24th at 1 pm, the passage through the Red Sea was hot and sultry, with light following breezes; arrived at Aden on the 31st October at 10 am, leaving same evening at 7 o'clock; arrived at Colombo on the 8th November at noon; filled up with coals, discharged and took in cargo, leaving the next morning at daylight; throughout the Indian Ocean had thick cloudy weather, accompanied by a considerable amount of rain, and experienced a continuance of contrary currents; arrived at Batavia [present-day Jakarta, Indonesia] on November 17th at 8 am, discharged 200 tons cargo; left again at dawn on the 18th; passed through Sunda Straights at 8 pm on the 20th, and arrived at Thursday Island on November 21st at 8 am; left again in the afternoon after discharging cargo into the hulk. 

She arrived in Cooktown November 30th, at noon; Townsville December 2nd, at daybreak; Bowen on the 4th, at 6 am; Mackay same day at 9 pm; left at midnight, and anchored in Port Alma at 6:30 pm on the 5th. The Duke of Westminster has had an exceedingly successful voyage from England and the health of the passengers has been exceptionally good. She had on board altogether 456 passengers for the Queensland Ports, and 3000 tons of cargo. She landed 67 passengers, and 400 tons of cargo for Rockhampton, and left at 5 am on the 7th for Brisbane." 

James and Martha had a son, John Henry Wevell, born in Queensland on 20 Apr 1885, so Martha was 2-3 months pregnant at the start of the voyage.

However, Martha Wevell died on 5 Oct 1885, from Typhoid. She is buried at the Charters Towers Pioneer CemeteryCharters TowersCharters Towers RegionQueensland, Australia, Section 5, Grave 1409. John Henry Wevell died, at 8 months, on 25 Dec 1885, from Gastric Fever, and was also buried at Charters Towers Pioneer Cemetery, Section 5, Grave 1482

The town of Charters Towers was founded in the 1870s when gold was discovered by chance at Towers Hill on Christmas Eve 1871, so we can assume that James and Martha went there looking for gold and no surprise whatsoever to find a Cornishman in a mining town on the other side of the world. It looks like James Wevell returned to the UK and remarried, but astonishingly, there's more than one James Wevell in Cornwall, of his age, so further investigation is needed to untangle the records. One in particular however, later travels to South Africa, where he died in 1950.