Showing posts with label Publican. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Publican. Show all posts

Thursday, 6 August 2026

George Thompson and Diana Shatford

Broughton church, dedicated to St Andrew
cc-by-sa/2.0 - © Philip Halling - geograph.org.uk/p/4116541

George Thompson (bap. 15 Apr 1836), eldest son of Daniel Thompson and Mary Adcock, married Diana Shatford, daughter of John Shatford and Mary Chapman, on 6 Aug 1862 at Broughton church. Diana's father was a Victualler And Farmer of High Street, Broughton (he held the large 18th century pubThe Red Lionon the corner of High Street and Church Street).  

At 14, in 1851, George Thompson was already employed as a carpenter in his father's business in Cransley Street, Broughton. After his father's death in 1854, he took over the business and, in 1861, was employing 2 men and 1 boy, having moved to 9, Mount Pleasant, Broughton. Staying with him in 1861 was his widowed mother, Mary Thompson (née Adcock), his brother Dan (12), sister Sarah Elizabeth Botterill and her sons Daniel (4) and Benjamin (0).

After they married in 1862, George and Diana had five children: 

  1. Mary Elizabeth Thompson b. 1863 M Quarter in KETTERING Volume 03B Page 182, bap. 1 Mar 1863 at Broughton church
  2. John Daniel Thompson b. 1865 S Qtr in KETTERING Vol 03B Page 168
  3. Diana Shatford Thompson b. 1867 D Qtr in KETTERING Vol 03B 159
  4. Francis George Thompson b. 1870 J Quarter in KETTERING Volume 03B Page 177. Died 1870 S Quarter in KETTERING Volume 03B Page 137
  5. Charles Francis Thompson b. 1871 S Qtr in KETTERING Vol 03B Page 170, bap. 30 Jul 1871. Died 1873 M Qtr in KETTERING Vol 03B Page 125, aged 19 m, buried on 11 Feb 1873 at St Andrew, Broughton.
In 1871, George Thompson (34), carpenter, was in Broughton with Diana Thompson (30), Mary Eliza Thompson (8), John D Thompson (5), Diana S Thompson (3) and apprentice, Samuel Draper (15). 

George Thompson died, aged 37, in 1873 S Quarter in KETTERING Volume 03B Page 91 and was buried at St Andrew's Church, Broughton. 

Diana Thompson then remarried to Thomas Skellham (bap. 4 Dec 1842 in Pytchley, Northamptonshire), son of William Skellom (sic) and Mary Streather in Q3 1875, also at St Andrew's Church, Broughton.

Thomas and Diana went on to have three further children:
  1. Joseph Thomas Skellham b. 1876 J Quarter in KETTERING Volume 03B Page 189. bap. 30 Apr 1876 in Broughton
  2. Amy Isabella Skellham b. 1879 M Qtr in KETTERING Vol 03B 193
  3. Clara Eliza Skelham (sic) b. 1881 D Qtr in KETTERING Vol 03B 191
In 1881, Thomas Skellham (38) Carrier, Diana Skellham (40), John D Thompson (15) Wife's son; Joseph T Skellham (5), Amy I Skellham (2) and Edward S Brown (22) Boarder were living at 5, Tilleys Hill, Broughton. Mary [Elizabeth] Tompson (18) was working as a Barmaid at the Victoria Tavern, 46 Three Colt Street, Limehouse, London for her uncle Benjamin Thompson; Diana Thompson (13) was living with her grandmother, Mary Shatford (64) Innkeeper, at the Red Lion Inn, 69, High Street, Broughton.

In 1891, Thomas Skellham (48) Publican was living in Main Street, Broughton - presumably the Red Lion - with Diana Skellham (50), Joseph T Skellham (16), Amy I Skellham (12) and Clara E Skellham (9). Diana Tompson (23) was a Hotel Barmaid for Alice Slight (39) in Sheep Street, Kettering.

In 1901, Thomas Skellham (58) Market Gardener was living in Mill Road, Kettering with Diana Skellham (60), Amy Skellham (22), Clara Skellham (19) and Francis Bates (25) Boarder.

In 1911, still in Kettering, were Thomas Skellham (68) Garden Labourer, Diana Skellham (70) and Amy Skellham (32).

Thomas Skellham died, at 76, in 1919 J Quarter in WELLINGBOROUGH and he was buried in Plot E582 at Newton Road Cemetery, Rushden.

Diana Skellham died, aged 89, in 1930 S Qtr in KETTERING Vol 03B 151.

John Shatford (bap. 25 Dec 1817 in Broughton, Northamptonshire), son of Joseph Shatford and Diana Dainty, married Mary Chapman (b. 1817 in Little Addington), in Q1 1839, in the district of Thrapston, Northamptonshire. 

John and Mary had eight children:
  1. Elizabeth Shatford b. 1839 S Quarter in KETTERING UNION Volume 15 Page 262, bap. 13 Aug 1839 in Broughton, Northamptonshire
  2. Diana Shatford b. 1840 in Brixworth, Northampton Q4 Vol 15 P 219
  3. Joseph Shatford b. 1842 J Qtr in BRIXWORTH Vol 15 Page 220
  4. Amy Deacon Shatford b. 1844 D Quarter in KETTERING UNION Volume 15 Page 272, bap. 10 Nov 1844 in Broughton, Northamptonshire. Died, aged 3, in 1848 S Quarter in KETTERING Volume 15 Page 184
  5. William Francis Dainty Shatford b. 1846 D Quarter in KETTERING UNION Volume 15 Page 282, bap. 6 Dec 1846 in Broughton
  6. John Shatford b. 1849 M Quarter in KETTERING Volume 15 Page 315, bap. 18 Mar 1849 in Little Addington, Northamptonshire
  7. Mary Amy Shatford b. 1851 S Qtr in KETTERING Vol 15 Page 306
  8. Charles Chapman Shatford b. 1857 D Quarter in KETTERING Volume 03B Page 148, bap. 3 Nov 1858 in Broughton, Northamptonshire. Died, aged 8, in 1866 S Quarter in KETTERING Volume 03B Page 94 and was buried on 20 Sep 1866, in Broughton, Northamptonshire.
All of the birth registrations show the mother's maiden name as Chapman.

In 1841, in High Street, Hannington, Northamptonshire, were John Shatford (20) and Mary Shatford (20), Dihannah (sic) Shatford (0), Naomi Dainty (12), William Chapman (70) and Hannah Chapman (65). (William Chapman and Hannah Bird, married on 27 Dec 1791 in Little Addington. They could be Mary's parents, or perhaps grandparents.) Elizabeth Shatford (1) meanwhile was staying in Loddington, in the household of Francis Dainty (40).

In 1851, John Shatford (33) Farmer Of 63 Acres Employing 3 Labourers was in High Street, Broughton with Mary Shatford (34), Elizabeth Shatford (11), Joseph Shatford (8), William Shatford (4), John Shatford (2) and George Brigs (30) Servant. (John's father, Joseph Shatford (60) Victualler, Diana Shatford (54) and William Shatford (26) were also in High Street, Broughton, possibly at the Red Lion.) Diana Shatford (11) was in Loddington with Rebecca Dainty (47) Licensed Victualler, her great aunt. (Rebecca was the widow of Francis Dainty, with whom Elizabeth was staying in 1841. Francis and Rebecca probably held the The Hare at 5 Main Street, Loddington.)

In 1861, John Shatford (43) Victualler And Farmer Of 63 Acres Employing 3 Men was still located in High Street, Broughton with Mary Shatford (44), Elizabeth Shatford (21), Diana Shatford (20), John Shatford (11), Mary A Shatford (9) and Charles C Shatford (3). Joseph Shatford (16) and William Shatford (14) were also living in Broughton High Street with their widowed grandfather, Joseph Shatford (71) Victualler & Grocer. 

In 1871, in Broughton were, John Shatford (53) Farmer, Mary Shatford (54), Joseph Shatford (81) Father, William F D Shatford (24), Mary A Shatford (19) and George Briggs (50) Lodger. (Elizabeth had married in 1864 and Diana in 1862; Joseph, it seems, had emigrated to New Zealand in 1865 and John Shatford married that year and was living with his in-laws.)

John Shatford died, at 54, on 16 Jan 1872 M Quarter in KETTERING Volume 03B Page 117, leaving his effects to his widow, Mary Shatford and William Shatford. John's father, Joseph Shatford, died in the same quarter, at 82, 1872 M Quarter in KETTERING Volume 03B Page 119.

In 1881, Mary Shatford (64) Innkeeper, Widow was at the Red Lion Inn, 69, High Street, Broughton with her granddaughter, Diana Thompson (13) (daughter of George Thompson and Diana Shatford). William F D Shatford (34) was Innkeeper at the The Three Cranes in Cransley and John Shatford (32) was Innkeeper at the Buccleuch Arms, 48, High Street, Broughton.

Mary Shatford died, at 71, in 1888 J Qtr in KETTERING Vol 03B Page 101.

Thursday, 30 July 2026

Richard John Goss and Martha Ayres

St Anne, Limehouse - East end, Friday, 3 July, 2015
Photo available for reuse under this Creative Commons licence.

Richard John Goss (b. 16 Jan 1792, bap. 27 May 1792 at St Anne's Limehouse), bachelor, son of Francis Goss, Shipwright, and Ann Greenshaw, married Martha Ayres (b. 4 Sep 1796, bap. 9 Oct 1796 at St Dunstan's, Stepney), spinster, daughter of Elnathan Ayres and Elizabeth Perry, by banns and with the consent of parents (because Martha was then 18 and a minor), at St Anne's Limehouse on 30 Jul 1815. They were married by the Rev. James Rudge. Witnesses were John May and Ann Fisher.

This couple had five sons:

  1. George Richard Goss b. 17 Jun 1816, bap. 26 Jul 1818 
  2. William Henry Goss b. 18 Aug 1821, bap. 2 Sep 1821
  3. Thomas Hoskins Goss b. 22 Aug 1826, bap. 12 Nov 1826. Died, at 37, in 1861 D Quarter in POPLAR UNION Volume 01C Page 455. Buried at the City of London and Tower Hamlets Cemetery on 30 Dec 1861.
  4. Richard John Goss b. 11 Jun 1827, bap. 30 Sep 1827 
  5. Henry James Goss b. 25 Aug 1832, bap. 16 Sep 1832 
George and William were baptised at St Anne's Limehouse; Thomas, Richard and Henry, baptised at All Saints, Poplar. All of the baptisms list their father's occupation as Caulker and their parents as Richard John and Martha. 

In 1841, Richard Goss (45) Publican, was living at Ropemakers Fields, St Anne Limehouse, Stepney, London with Martha Goss (40), William Goss (15), Thomas Goss (10), Richard Goss (10), Henry Goss (5), Sarah Mason (20) F. S. [Female Servant]. Also, presumably boarding or lodging, were John Muir (20) Engineer; John Cook (25) Engineer; James Young (20) Shipwright; and James Jemmerson (40) Sail M[aker], all four from Scotland. Unfortunately, the census doesn't give the name of the pub, but there is evidence in London, England, Electoral Registers, 1832-1972, where Richard John Goss is listed at (another closed pubThe Three Mariners, Ropemakers Fields, in 1845.

In 1851, Richard Goss (59) had returned to being a Ship's Caulker and was residing at 7, Gates Street, Poplar, London with Martha Goss (55), Thomas Goss (26) Ship's Caulker and Henry Goss (19) Ship's Caulker. 

On 11 Jul 1853, Richard Goss, Caulker, from Limehouse, 63, 5ft 10in, was admitted to the Dreadnought Seamen's Hospital (Seafarers Hospital Society), which was then still housed in "a decrepit wooden warship, moored in the River Thames at Greenwich", the former HMS Dreadnought (1801). Richard Goss remained in hospital until 3 Aug 1853, having fractured some ribs while working on the ship Earl of Balcarres (a British East Indiaman, launched in Bombay in 1815, sold to the Somes Brothers in 1848, who operated the ship in the India trade for a while) at the Somes Dock at Blackwall. 

In 1861, living at 14, Alfred Street, Poplar, were just Richard Goss (69) Ship's Caulker and Martha Goss (65). 

Richard John Goss of Northumberland Street, Poplar, died, aged 74, in 1866 M Quarter in POPLAR UNION Volume 01C Page 525 and was buried on 4 Mar 1866 at the City of London and Tower Hamlets Cemetery

Martha Goss died in 1870 S Quarter in STEPNEY Volume 01C Page 346 and was buried at City of London and Tower Hamlets Cemetery on 10 Sep 1870.

Friday, 12 June 2026

Edward Green and Eliza Goodman

St. Matthew's Church, Bethnal Green
cc-by-sa/2.0 - © Dr Neil Clifton - geograph.org.uk/p/688069

Edward Green (50) (b. 28 May 1821, bap. 7 Oct 1821 at the church of St George in the East, Cannon Street Road), Licenced Victualler, Batchelor, son of William Green, Blacksmith, and his wife Matilda, eventually married Eliza Goodman (49) (bap. 16 Dec 1821 at St. Andrew's Church, Halstead), Spinster, daughter of Thomas Goodman and Mary Ann Pluck, by Licence at Christ Church, St George in the East (Christ Church Watney Street), on 12 Jun 1870. They'd already been together for around 30 years. Neither could read and write and made their mark with an X. Witnesses to their marriage were Charles John Osborne and Ann Bellett, Eliza's eldest sister.

Edward and Eliza had already had five lovely daughters:
  1. Eliza Green b. 1841 J Quarter in BETHNAL GREEN Volume 02 Page 63, mother's maiden surname Goodman. (This looks like the child on the 1841 census. Eliza born 1841, does not appear on the census again.) There is a death of an Eliza Green, aged 8 in 1850 M Quarter in BETHNAL GREEN Volume 02 Page 3 that would correspond.
  2. Emma Green b. 1847 S Quarter in BETHNAL GREEN Volume 02 Page 16, with mother's maiden surname listed as Goodwin (Close LOL).
  3. Mary Ann Green b. 3 Jul 1849, bap. 29 Jul 1849 at St Matthew's, Bethnal Green. This baptism lists their address in Scott Street, Bethnal Green. Found no civil birth registration for Mary Ann.
  4. Sarah Green b. 15 May 1854, bap. 11 Jun at Christ Church, Stepney.
  5. Eliza Louisa Green b. 21 Mar 1858 in St George in the East (1858 J Quarter in SAINT GEORGE IN THE EAST Volume 01C Page 413. Mother's maiden surname Goodman), bap. 18 Apr 1858 at Christ Church, Watney Street, Shadwell. (The transcript of the London, Docklands And East End Baptisms claims that her baptism took place at Christ Church, Jamaica Street, Stepney, but that's impossible because that church didn't even open until 1877.) Eliza Louisa Green died, aged 13, in 1871 S Quarter in MILE END OLD TOWN Volume 01C Page 361 and was buried on 29 Jul 1871 at the City of London and Tower Hamlets Cemetery.
There is a record of an Edward Green (18) occupation Cabinet Maker, being indicted for stealing, on the 28th of January 1837, "1 horse-cloth, value 4s., the goods of Robert Campion". He was tried at the Old Bailey on 2 Feb 1837, found guilty and sentenced to one month in Newgate Prison.

In 1841, in Anglesea Street, St Matthew, Bethnal Green, there's a weird census entry of an Edward Green (20), Cabinet Maker, not born in the county and, with him are an Elizabeth (2) and Elizabeth (1 month). This might make sense if the first Elizabeth was 20, but it doesn't look like a mis-transcription. And Elizabeth isn't Eliza. Nevertheless, I'm still pretty sure this is them.

In 1851, living in Scott Street, Bethnal Green, we find Edward Green (32), Cabinet Maker, born in Shoreditch, with Eliza Green (28), born in Braintree, Essex, and daughter Emma Green (3). Where was Mary Ann?

On Eliza Louisa's baptism in 1858, the family's address was given as Chapel Street, St George in the East, which was later renamed Tait Street. And we know they were already at the The King and Queen public house in 1856.

Chapel Street, St. George in the East was later renamed Tait Street (although the street doesn't exist at all now - current Tait Street is a completely different location). The King and Queen Public House, long since demolished, stood on the corner of Tait Street and Mary Street (marked P.H.) You can clearly identify the area referred to below as 'a yard in the rear'.

Anyway, it would seem from the newspaper report I've discovered (see below) that Edward Green was the subject of a sting operation, authorised right from the top in Scotland Yard. (If you're going to do something, aim high, eh?)

Fascinating to read dialogue that came straight out of the mouths of these ancestors, even if they do sound, shall we say, a bit on the rough side. :)

Sunday opening isn't even a crime now, but trying to blame Eliza, nooooo ....

From The Morning Chronicle of Monday, November 8, 1858.

SUNDAY IN A PUBLIC HOUSE – ARTS OF THE POLICE

Edward Green, the landlord of the King and Queen public-house, in Chapel Street, St. George’s-in-the-East, appeared at the Thames Police-court, on Saturday, on a police information charged with unlawfully opening his house for the sale of ale, beer and spirituous liquors on Sunday morning last, during the hours prohibited by law.

Richard Blanks, a police-constable, 81 K, stated that he was directed by Mr. Superintendent Howie, of the K division, to detect the defendant, who was in the practice of supplying people with beer and spirits on Sunday, during the whole of the day, while other houses were closed. He went to the house in plain clothes, dressed as a waterman, and was accompanied by Mrs. Randall, the female searcher at the station-house adjoining the Thames Police-court, who was the wife of a police-constable. On reaching the defendant’s house Mrs. Randall knocked at the front door, and waited some time without its being answered, and he said, “Come old lady, we shall not be served with anything here.” The door was then opened by the defendant, who narrowly scrutinised them both, and after looking at the trousers of witness, which were not blue [a laugh], said, “You will do; have what you like,” and directed them to a side door, which was opened, and they were admitted into the house and directed to a yard in the rear, in which was a private bar fitted up. There were 20 men and women in front of the small bar, and they were served with rum, gin, ale, beer, and tobacco. He saw others admitted at the side door, and let out after they were served at the back door. Mrs. Randall asked for two pennyworth of gin and cold water, which was supplied to her. He then called the landlady on one side, and told her she was doing wrong. She said, “What of it?” He then asked for the landlord, and told him what he had seen and he said it was a bad job.

The defendant, in reply to the charge, said that he could not contradict what was said. He was not aware what was done in the house. His wife did it all, and admitted people into the house without his knowledge.

Mr. Yardley: Where was the landlord – the defendant, I mean?

Blanks: He was at the front door. He directed me to the side door.

Mr Yardley: To be sure; you said so before. Don’t tell me, Mr. Green, you were not aware of it. It is a most flagrant case.

Sir Richard Mayne KCB (27 November 1796 – 26 December 1868) was a barrister and the joint first Commissioner of Police of the Metropolis, the head of the London Metropolitan Police (1829–1868).
Inspector Hayes, of the K division, said repeated complaints had been made by licenced victuallers and beer shop keepers, who complied with the law, of the practice adopted by the defendant, who stood at the front door to reconnoitre, while persons were admitted at the side door. Mr. Howie, the superintendent, had made a special complaint to Sir Richard Mayne, the Chief Commissioner of Police, and had received his permission to adopt the means of detection used on Sunday morning last. Mr. Howie intended to be present to explain to the magistrate why he adopted the unusual step of allowing a woman to accompany the constable, but was obliged to leave the court to meet the commissioners.

Mr. Yardley: There is no harm in the means adopted to detect the defendant. No trap was laid. Mr. Howie was perfectly justified in doing what he has done. There is nothing illegitimate in the mode of finding out what was going on. I would not convict if a trap had been laid, but it appears there were 20 persons in the house. I shall deviate from the ordinary practice where a first offence has been proved. I generally treat a first offence lightly, but I fine the defendant £3 and costs, because he has broken the law systematically.

The fine was instantly paid.

[£3 in 1858 is equivalent to about £375 in 2020. Source.]

In 1861, at 25, Mary Street (same place: on the corner with Tait Street), St George in the East, were Edward Green (40), Publican, Eliza (38), Emma (13), Mary (12), Sarah (6) and Eliza (3), and Harriet Blundell (12), visitor.

Edward Green died on 22 Jun 1870, aged 50, from liver and kidney disease, just 10 days after he and Eliza married. From this, we can probably deduce that he knew how sick he was and at least cared enough to leave Eliza the means, through marriage, to take over the pub licence and a livelihood.

In 1871, at Tait Street, St George in the East (still the King and Queen pub), were Eliza Green (48), Widow, Licenced Victualler, married daughter, Emma Horn (22), Barmaid, John Horn (23), Plumber, Sarah Green (17), Eliza Green (13), Eliza Thompson (2), granddaughter, Emma Horn (2), granddaughter, Edward J Horn (0), grandson, and Emily R Slade (14), General Servant.

The East London Observer in August 1875 lists Eliza Green as the outgoing licensee at the King and Queen, ending the Green's tenure at this pub. 

In 1881, Eliza was living with her daughter Sarah and her husband, Alfred James Lynch, at the Duke of Norfolk public house in Mile End Old Town. 

Eliza Green, widow of Edward Green, Licenced Victualler, died on 12 Feb 1882 (1882 M Quarter in MILE END OLD TOWN Volume 01C Page 462) at the Duke of Norfolk public house in Mile End Old Town from Chronic Bronchitis. Her death was registered by Alf J Lynch, son-in-law.

Monday, 25 May 2026

Daniel Botterill and Sarah Elizabeth Thompson

The "skull & crossbones" entrance to St. Nicholas' Church, Deptford Green Photo © Mike Quinn (cc-by-sa/2.0)

Daniel Botterill (bap. 20 Dec 1831 in Cransley, Northamptonshire), son of Stephen Botterill and Mary Thompson, married Sarah Elizabeth Thompson (bap. 15 Dec 1833 in Broughton, Northamptonshire), daughter of Daniel Thompson and Mary Adcock, at Christ Church Watney Street, St George in the East in on 25 May 1856. Witnesses were Edward Taylor and Ann Taylor. Ann was both of the couple's aunt. Mary Botterill (née Thompson) - Daniel Botterill's mother - was the elder sister of Daniel Thompson - Sarah Elizabeth Thompson's father - and Ann Taylor (née Thompson) was their younger sister. Daniel Botterill and Sarah Thompson, therefore, were 1st Cousins.

Daniel and Sarah had five children:
  1. Dan Stephen Thompson Botterill, b. 1857 M Quarter in GREENWICH Volume 01D Page 590, bap. 13 Sep 1857 at West Haddon
  2. Benjamin Adcock Botterill b. 1861 M Quarter in GREENWICH Volume 01D Page 614, bap. 6 May 1861 at West Haddon. (Died, aged 1, in 1862 J Quarter in GREENWICH Volume 01D Page 367.)
  3. John Benjamin Botterill b. 25 Aug 1864 (1864 D Quarter in GREENWICH Volume 01D Page 643), bap. 27 Jan 1867 at Saint Nicholas, Deptford.
  4. Elizabeth Cox Botterill b. 1867 M Quarter in GREENWICH Volume 01D Page 754, bap. 27 Jan 1867 at Saint Nicholas, Deptford. (Died, aged 4, in 1871 J Quarter in GREENWICH Volume 01D Page 525.)
  5. Mary Louisa Adcock Botterill b. 19 Apr 1870 (1870 J Quarter in GREENWICH Volume 01D Page 773), bap. at Saint Nicholas, Deptford on 8 May 1870. 
In 1841, Daniel Botterill (10) was living with his parents in West Haddon, Northamptonshire, with his father, Stephen, then listed as a Publican.

Flagon Row 1880
In 1861, Daniel was living at 3, Wellington Street (formerly Flagon Row), St Nicholas, Deptford, listed as a "Boiler Maker Tobaconist" - between a Butcher and a Shoe Shop on one side and a Baker, a Greengrocer, a Chemist and a Clothes Dealer on the other. Emma Thompson (16) was listed as a Servant in his household, while his wife, Sarah, was visiting her brother George and their widowed mother, in Northamptonshire, along with sons Daniel (4) and Benjamin (0).

A report in The Era of 17 Nov 1867 lists the transfer of the licence for The White Hart, Deptford Green to Daniel Botterill. Situated at 33 Deptford Green, the pub closed c.1896 and has now been demolished. We find Daniel and Sarah Botterill there in 1869 and again on the 1871 census, where Daniel Botterill (39) is listed as a Licensed Victualler and living with him are his wife, Sarah E (37), sons; Daniel Stephen (14) and John (6), daughters; Elizabeth (4) and Mary (0), as well as Sarah's sister, Louisa Thompson (26), listed as "Barmaid" and Sarah's widowed mother, Mary Thompson (61).

(1) Houses In Old Flagon Row, North Side (2) Corner of Flagon Row (3) Deptford Green c.1897

In 1874, D Botterill was listed as the licencee of The Old Centurion Pub on Deptford Broadway. Given the two following reports in the newspapers of the time, it would seem that this was probably a pretty rough establishment.

Kentish Mercury 9 May 1874: 
STEALING A DRINKING GLASS Jane Bartlett, about 70 years of age, a hawker, residing in Hales Street, Deptford, was charged with stealing a drinking glass, value 6½d., the property of Daniel Botterill, landlord of The Centurion, public house, Deptford Broadway. It appeared from the evidence of the barman that the prisoner came into the house on the previous evening, and remained there some time drinking with a navvy. After he had gone witness saw the prisoner place the glass under her arm, and upon speaking to her about it she dropped it. The prisoner, who denied any intention of stealing the glass, was sent to Maidstone gaol for seven days.

Kentish Mercury 6 Mar 1875: 
KICKING A LICENSED VICTUALLER James Chapman, of Wood's lodging-house, Mill Lane, Deptford, was charged with being drunk, and assaulting the landlord of the Centurion public house, Deptford Broadway. Daniel Botterill, the landlord, said the prisoner came into his house on Saturday night and annoyed the customers. He was ejected, but got in again, and commenced another row. Witness put him outside, when the prisoner ran at him, and kicked him several times. Mr. Patterson sentenced the prisoner to 14 days' hard labour, refusing his application for the imposition of a fine.

The Old Centurion Pub closed in 2004 and was converted into flats. 

(Top left) The White Hart, Deptford Green, (Top right) The Old Centurion Pub on Deptford Boadway, (Bottom left) Clock House, Leather Lane, (Bottom right) Holly Tree Arms, Lewisham

On the 1881 census and in 1882, Daniel Botterill was listed as landlord of the Clock House (formerly Coach & Horses), in Leather Lane, Holborn. Sarah's sister, Louisa, who married John Soppit in 1875, was living there, but Sarah was not on census day. Instead, she was lodging in the household of John Snell, a Lodging House Keeper, in Torquay in Devon. The transcription of that record describes her as "Sister to wife". That doesn't make sense and I believe the original actually says "Licensed Victualler's Wife" which is what she was. Was this a relative, a business contact, a holiday or perhaps a health break?

By 1891, the Botterills were back south of the river at the Holly Tree Arms, then in Holly Tree Terrace, between Hither Green and Lewisham. Staying there at that time were Daniel (59), Licensed Victualler, wife Sarah E (57), daughter Mary L (20), grandson John (11), granddaughter Alice (6), Alice J Pretty (28) Domestic Servant General, niece Catherine S Soppett (15), Edmund Allen (16) Pot Boy and Catherine Hancock (59) Laundress. 

A report in the Woolwich Gazette on 16 Feb 1894, showed Daniel Botterill as the outgoing licensee in the transfer of the licence of the Holly Tree.

Given they only seem to stay in one place for a couple of years at a time, there may well be even more pubs in the years between these various records. 

In 1901, Sarah, 'Wife of occupier (away)', is living at 49, Wisteria Road, Lewisham along with daughter Mary L A (30) a Teacher of Dressmaking and grandson John (21) a Sign Writer, while Daniel Botterill (69), "Living on own means", was away in the household of his son, John Benjamin Botterill, in Croydon, where Daniel was listed as a 'Widower'. Clearly he wasn't. 

Daniel Botterill died, aged 76, on 12 Feb 1908 (1908 M Quarter in LEWISHAM Volume 01D Page 724). 

Sarah Botterill died a month later, on 11 Mar 1908 (1908 M Quarter in LEWISHAM Volume 01D Page 737), aged 74. Probate shows she left £2449 1s 3d (~£300,000 today) to her three surviving children. 

In 1911, Mary L A Botterill (40) was living at 49 Wisteria Road, Lewisham. Living with her was her nephew, John Botterill (31) Sign Writer.

In 1921, Mary L A Botterill was living at 69 Old Road, Lee, Lewisham. Her nephew, John Botterill (41) Sign Writer was still living with her, as well as an Evelyn L R Wadsworth (54) Working Companion, Boarder.

In 1939, and still living at 69 Old Road, Lee, Lewisham, were Mary L A Botterill and with her this time, Lucy E N Wadsworth (b. 1 Apr 1917). 

The Probate record for Mary Louisa Adcock Botterill, who never married, shows that at the time of her death on 4 Feb 1947 (1947 M Quarter in WATFORD Volume 04B Page 399), she was a resident at Leavesden Hospital (The Imbeciles Asylum). Leavesden Hospital was a mental health facility, which was called Leavesden Asylum for Idiots and Imbeciles when it opened. Looking at the circumstances, I suspect there's a good chance Mary was born with Learning Difficulties. Mary Louisa Adcock Botterill was buried, on 11 Feb 1947, with her parents and brother.

Monday, 27 April 2026

James Alfred Garnett and Mabel Shotter

Pizza Hut on corner of Kingston Crescent and Gamble Road
cc-by-sa/2.0 - © Basher Eyre - geograph.org.uk/p/770407

James Alfred Garnett (b. 1881), son of John William Garnett and Margaret Mary Coleborn, married Mabel Shotter (b. 1879), daughter of William Thomas Shotter and Hannah Jane Bussey, at St Mark's church, North End, Portsmouth (demolished in the 1970s) on 27 Apr 1908. The groom was Licence Holder at The Fairy Queen, Grosvenor Street, Southsea at the time of his marriage.

James and Mabel had one daughter:
  1. Marjorie Mabel Garnett, b. 28 Feb 1915 (1915 M Qtr in PORTSMOUTH Vol 02B Page 767), bap 1 Apr 1915 at St Mary's Church, Portsea
In 1891, the ten year old James Alfred Garnett had lived at Public House, Stamshaw Road, Portsea (Derby Tavern, 47 Stamshaw Road, Landport), where his father, John William Garnett, was described as a Beer retailer.

In 1901, James Alfred Garnett (19) had been Assistant manager of the Fountain Hotel, London Road, Portsmouth (Fountain, 133 London Road, North End), held by Edward Gardner, Licensed victualler, his uncle.

In 1911, James Alfred Garnett (29) Licensed victualler and Mabel Garnett (31) Assisting in business, were at 90 Kingston Crescent, North End, Portsmouth (The Admirals Head, 90 Kingston Crescent, Landport), now a Pizza Hut. In 1916, James Alfred Garnett of The Admiral's Head, Kingston, Publican, appears on an Exemption Register of Portsmouth Military Tribunals, presumably exempting him from military service in World War I.

James Alfred Garnett of The Queens Hotel, 143 Queen's Road, Gosport, died, aged 55, on 22 Nov 1936 (1936 D Quarter in GOSPORT Volume 02B Page 796), leaving his effects to Mabel Garnett, Widow.

In the 3rd quarter of 1938, Mabel Garnett remarried to Walter John Morgan, widower, of 131 Queen's Road, Gosport, in Portsmouth and, in the same quarter, Marjorie Mabel Garnett married Bernard Connorton, in Gosport.

In 1939, Mabel Morgan and her daughter, Marjorie M Connorton were both living at 26 Lower Farlington Road, Portsmouth, while Walter J Morgan was listed in the household of his son-in-law and daughter, Ina G M Palmer, at 44 Bishop's Way, Andover. (I've been unable to locate Bernard.)

Marjorie M Connorton died, at 25, in 1940 M Quarter in PORTSMOUTH Volume 02B Page 1770. While a death in 1940 might be related to the Second World War, this was too early to be related to The Portsmouth Blitz, during which: "The three major raids took place on August 24th 1940 during the Portsmouth Blitz, January 10th 1941 and March 10th 1941."

Mabel Morgan died, at 68, in 1948 M Qtr in PORTSMOUTH Vol 06B 496.

Saturday, 28 March 2026

John Tubb and Mary Anne Harfull

Portsmouth Naval Base - Lion Gate
cc-by-sa/2.0 - © Chris Allen - geograph.org.uk/p/7577310
Town gate, now naval entrance way. 1778. The Lion Gate which once stood at the end of Queen Street, Portsea, dismantled in the 19th century and re-erected in present position 1929.

John Tubb (bap. 12 Feb 1816) Seaman, son of William Tubb and Sarah Chard, married Mary Anne Harfull (bap. 11 Aug 1816), daughter of William Harfull and Mary Anne Brine, at St Mary's Church, Portsea on 28 Mar 1838. Witnesses to this marriage were Eliza Harfull and William Tubb.

John and Mary Anne Tubb had nine children:
  1. John William Tubb b. 1839 J Quarter in PORTSEA ISLAND UNION Volume 07 Page 119, bap. 15 Sep 1839 at St Mary's, Portsea. Residence Abercrombie Street, Portsmouth (wiped out by bombing) and his father was a Seaman. John William Tubb (28) Shipwright of Lion Gate Road, Landport died on 22 Dec 1867 (1867 D Quarter in PORTSEA ISLAND Volume 02B Page 257), buried on 27 Dec 1867 at Portsea Cemetery.
  2. Emma Ann Tubb b. 1841 Q3 in Portsea Island Vol 7 Page 106, bap. 11 Jul 1841 at St Mary's Portsea. Address was Copenhagen Street, Landport - also no longer exists - John was still a Seaman.
  3. William Cox Tubb b. 1848 S Quarter in PORTSEA ISLAND UNION Volume 07 Page 132, bap. 8 Oct 1848 at St Mary's, Portsea.
  4. Edward Tubb b. 1850 M Quarter in PORTSEA ISLAND UNION Volume 07 Page 147, bap. 20 Oct 1850 at St Mary's, Portsea. The family had moved to Spring Street and John was still described as a Seaman.
  5. Mary Ann Tubb b. 1851 D Quarter in PORTSEA ISLAND UNION Volume 07 Page 144, bap. 2 Nov 1851 at St Mary's, Portsea. They were then living in Lion Gate Road and John was listed as a Beer Retailer.
  6. Sarah Tubb b. 1853 S Quarter in PORTSEA ISLAND UNION Volume 02B Page 310, bap. 10 Jul 1853 at St Mary's, Portsea. Again living in Lion Gate Road and John listed as a Beer Retailer.
  7. Ellen Tubb b. 1855 D Quarter in PORTSEA ISLAND Volume 02B Page 304. Died, aged 2Y 8M, on 5 May 1858 (1858 J Quarter in PORTSEA ISLAND Volume 02B Page 253), buried on 9 May 1858 at St Mary's Portsea, daughter of John Tubb, of Lion Gate Road, Landport.
  8. Elizabeth Tubb b. 1857 J Quarter in PORTSEA ISLAND Volume 02B Page 325, bap. 2 Apr 1862 at All Saints, Portsea, residence Lion Gate Road and John listed as a Licenced Victualler.
  9. Henry Tubb b. 1860 D Quarter in PORTSEA ISLAND Vol 02B Page 339, bap. 2 Apr 1862 at All Saints, Portsea. Died, aged 3, on 15 Jan 1864 (1864 M Quarter in PORTSEA ISLAND Vol 02B Page 292), buried 19 Jan 1864 at Portsea Cemetery, son of John Tubb of Lion Gate Road.
On the birth registrations for William Cox, Mary Ann, Ellen and Elizabeth the mother's maiden name is listed as HARFIELD. On the registrations for John William, Edward, Sarah and Henry, it is correctly listed as HARFULL.

We have scant details of John's naval career as he was too early for a continuous service record, but the obvious conclusion is that he went on a lengthy cruise between the births of Emma in 1841 and William in 1848.

John Tubb, born in Portsmouth, 5ft 10in, with dark brown hair, a ruddy complexion and hazel eyes and an anchor on his right arm, was, however, issued with a Merchant Seaman ticket in Valparaíso (Chile), on 17 Mar 1846, whilst serving with HMS Daphne (1838) in the capacity of Master-at-Arms. This record gives his date of birth as 15 Nov 1813. Baptised in early 1816, various records suggest that John Tubb was born in late 1815 and I'm happy to accept this record and believe that the tall lad made himself 2 years older when he signed up as a Seaman in 1831 - as he was then 16 and a boy, so by adding 2 years will have had him taken on and paid accordingly as an adult.

Adding weight to accepting the above record, HMS Daphne, on 30 Jul 1842 was reported at Portsmouth and on 28 Sep 1842 departed Spithead for South America. In Feb 1843, she was struck by lightning off Montevideo (Uruguay); on 26 Jul 1845 they arrived at Port Apia (Samoa), then proceeded to Auckland, New Zealand the following day. On 2 Oct 1845 Daphne left Auckland for the Pacific. 1846 Pacific and Otaheite (Tahiti). Jan 1848 Chatham, in Ordinary - which precisely fits the gap between kids.

In 1851, in Lion Gate Road, were John Tubb (36) Beer seller; Mary Tubb (35), John Tubb (12), Emma Tubb (10), William Tubb (2), Edward Tubb (1) and Frances Thompsham (17) and William Snook (10) House Servants.

In 1861, and still in Lion Gate Road, Portsmouth, were John Tubb (45) Publican; Mary Tubb (44) Publican's Wife; John Tubb (21) Assistant; Emma Cook (19) Seaman's wife; William Tubb (12), Edward Tubb (11), Mary Ann Tubb (9), Sarah Tubb (7), Elizabeth Tubb (4), Henry Tubb (0), Maria Tithridge (20) House Servant; Honore Batchat (15) House Servant; Charlet (sic) White (31) House Servant and Thomas Carroll (41) Traveller, Boarder.

The Hampshire Telegraph of 28 Dec 1867, under DEATHS, carried the following notice: "TUBB-On the 22nd instant, at the "Battle and the Breeze," Landport, John William Tubb, eldest son of John Tubb, aged 28." Although the Hampshire Telegraph on 26 Nov 1859 had placed Mary Tubb at the "Battle and Breeze", this confirms the name of the pub they ran for 25+ years. The Battle and the Breeze, Landport, The Portsmouth Encyclopedia tells us, was on north side of Lion Gate Road, on the east corner of Spring Street. That part of Lion Gate Road is now part of Edinburgh Road." That location is where the Park Tavern is today, although it may well now be a different edifice.

In 1871, with the address listed as 10 Lion Gate Road, were John Tubb (55) Licenced Victualler; Mary Tubb (54), Edward Tubb (21) Cabinet Maker; Mary A Tubb (19) Milliner; Sarah Tubb (17), Elizabeth Tubb (14), William Cook (7) listed as Nephew - he was actually John and Mary's grandson, so perhaps one of the children filled out the census forms and gave the relationship to themselves rather than their father - Alfred Hayden (25) Waiter, Domestic Servant; and James Brown (46) from Kent, Lodger, Pensioner RN.

In 1875 & 1878, son Edward Tubb is listed at the Battle & the Breeze.

In 1881, living at 114, Queens Road, Portsea, was John Tubb (65) Retired Publican with Mary Tubb (64), William Tubb (32) Upholsterer; Elizabeth Tubb (23) and William Cook (17) Tailor's Apprentice, born in Ireland (he was the son of Emma Ann Tubb and her husband William Cook).

In 1891, at 1, Queens Road, Portsea, were John Tubb (75), Mary Tubb (74), William Tubb (42) Upholster and Emma Honeyman (17) Domestic Servant.

Mary Tubb, wife of John Tubb of Queen's Road, Buckland, died, aged 83, in 1900 J Quarter in PORTSMOUTH Volume 02B Page 279, and she was buried on 29 Jun 1900 at Kingston Cemetery.

In 1901, John Tubb (85) Living on own means was still living at 1, Queens Road, Portsmouth with his son William Tubb (51) Living on own means and Bertha K Hillyer (23) General Domestic Servant.

John Tubb of Queens Road died, aged 90, in 1905 D Quarter in PORTSMOUTH Vol 02B Page 255 and was buried on 24 Nov 1905.

  • There was a William Tubb (62) Retired, Single, living alone at 17 Chitty Road, Portsmouth in 1911 and a record in the Portsmouth Workhouse Registers of a William Tubb b. 1848, admitted and discharged on 3 Sep 1914. There's also a record of a death of a William Tubb (66) in 1914 S Quarter in PORTSMOUTH Volume 02B  Page 493. Sadly, I believe all of these may relate.

Tuesday, 30 December 2025

Benjamin Thompson and Mary Ann Botterill

The Spotted Cow (closed)
cc-by-sa/2.0 - © Stephen Craven - geograph.org.uk/p/2331664

Benjamin Thompson (bap. 3 Oct 1841 in Cransley, Northamptonshire), son of Daniel Thompson and Mary Adcock, married Mary Ann Botterill (b. 1844 in West Haddon), daughter of Stephen Botterill and Mary Thompson, at Christ Church, Watney StreetSt George in the East on 30 Dec 1866. Benjamin's sister, Sarah Elizabeth Thompson, had already married Mary Ann's brother, Daniel Botterill. Both sibling pairs, therefore, married their first cousins.

Records suggest that Benjamin and Mary had six children:
  1. Daniel Tompson b. 1872 M Quarter in SAINT GEORGE IN THE EAST Volume 01C Page 460
  2. Benjamin Adcock Tompson b. 1874 J Quarter in SAINT GEORGE IN THE EAST Volume 01C Page 413
  3. Sarah Tompson b. 1879 S Quarter in ST GEORGE IN THE EAST Volume 01C Page 398
  4. Thomas Tompson b. 1883 S Quarter in STEPNEY Volume 01C Page 421
  5. Mary Tompson b. 1887 S Quarter in BROMLEY Volume 02A Page 413
  6. Rose Tompson b. 1889 S Quarter in LEWISHAM Volume 01D Page 1114. Died 18 Feb 1891 (1891 M Quarter in LEWISHAM Volume 01D Page 810) and is buried at Brockley and Ladywell Cemeteries

In 1861, Benjamin Tompson (19), having dopped the haitch, bricklayer, had been living with his aunt and uncle, John and Maria Blackett

By 1871, Benjamin Tompson (29) Master Builder and Mary (27) were living at 299 Cable Street. (Benjamin's brother Dan and his wife Mary Ann Green were living there when their first child, Eliza Louisa was born there in 1868.) 

Then in 1879, Benjamin Thompson was listed as the incoming licensee at the Victoria, 46 Three Colt Street, Limehouse E14. (A Trip Down Three Colt Street | Houses in Three Colt Street.) 

In 1881, Benjamin Tompson (39) Licenced Victualler from Broughton, Northamptonshire, was still at 46 Three Colt Steet, Limehouse with Mary Tompson (36), Daniel Tompson (9), Benjamin Tompson (7), Mary Tompson (18)* Barmaid and C Taylor (19) Female Domestic Servant. *Mary Tompson is listed as their daughter, but in fact was Mary Elizabeth Tompson, daughter of Benjamin's late brother, George Thompson and Diana Shatford.

Benjamin was still listed at the Victoria, Limehouse in 1882 and 1884. 

Benjamin Tompson died, aged 48, in 1890 M Quarter in LEWISHAM Volume 01D Page 802. The Will of Benjamin Tompson of the "Victoria" Tavern, Three Colt Street, Limehouse in the County of Middlesex, but late of the "Spotted Cow", Hither Green Lane, Lewisham in the County of Kent, Licenced Victualler, who died 6 Feb 1890 [1] at the "Spotted Cow", was proved at the Principal Registry by Mary Tompson of the "Spotted Cow" Widow of the Relict and John Soppit of the "Railway" Tavern, Shortlands in the County of the Kent, Licensed Victualler the Executors. He left £1,140 17s 10d.

[1] The date of death on the probate record was listed as 6 Feb 1890, but on his grave, the date is given as 6 Jan 1890. The latter must be correct as Benjamin had already been buried (hopefully not alive) on 14 Jan 1890.

In 1891, Mary Tompson (46), widow, had become the Licenced Victualler of the Spotted Cow, Hither Green Lane, Lewisham. Living with her were her son, Daniel (19) Manager Public House; Benjamin (17), Cabinet Maker's Apprentice; daughter Mary (3); her niece Sarah Tompson (Dan Tompson's daughter), as well as a Sarah A Bunting (24), General Servant.

By 1901, Mary Tompson (55) was living at 44, Ringstead Road, Lewisham. With her were Benjamin Tompson (27), who had become an upholsterer; Thomas Tompson (17), Warehouseman; Mary Tompson (13), Sybil Thompson (2), granddaughter, and Ellen Guymer (20), General Domestic Servant.

Mary Tompson died, aged 58, on 7 Jun 1903 (1903 J Qtr in LEWISHAM Vol 01D 575) and she is also buried at Brockley and Ladywell Cemeteries.

Monday, 29 December 2025

Samms Sheppard Rudd and Mary Sarah Ann Walrond

St John the Evangelist Waterloo
cc-by-sa/2.0 - © PAUL FARMER - geograph.org.uk/p/1257876

Samms Sheppard Rudd (bap. 30 Nov 1834 at St Dunstan's, Stepney), son of Samms Rudd and Ann Johnson, married Mary Sarah Ann Walrond, who listed her father as William Walrond, Cabinet Maker [and Mary Scoines], at St John the Evangelist (St John's Church, Waterloo), on 29 Dec 1854

The couple had at least seven children:
  1. Mary Ann Rudd b. 2 Nov 1855 D Quarter in THE SHOREDITCH DISTRICT Volume 01C Page 98, bap. 28 Dec 1856 at St John the Baptist, Shoreditch (St John the Baptist, Hoxton). The family's address was in Aske Street (named for parish's benefactor, City alderman and haberdasher Robert Aske) and her father's occupation, Waiter.
  2. Emily Grace Rudd b. 8 Jul 1857 S Quarter in SHOREDITCH Volume 01C Page 152, bap. 1 Aug 1858 at St. James', Westminster.
  3. Alice Rudd b. 1859 S Quarter in SHOREDITCH Volume 01C Page 100
  4. Frederick William Rudd b. 1864 J Qtr in SHOREDITCH Vol 01C 83
  5. Albert Edward Rudd b. 1868 S Qtr in SHOREDITCH Vol 01C 75
  6. John Edwin Rudd b. 1872 D Qtr in HAMPSTEAD Vol 01A 603
  7. Charles Rudd b. 1876 M Qtr in ST GILES Vol 01B Page 652
On the birth registrations for Mary Ann, Alice, Frederick William, Albert Edward and John Edwin the mother's maiden name is listed as WALROND. On that for Emily Grace, it's WABRONE and for Charles, WABROUD. With such random variations, it's difficult to know if all their children are included.

In 1861, listed as Samuel S Rudd (26) Waiter from Kentish Town, Middlesex, was living at 41, New North Street, Shoreditch with Mary S Rudd (26), Mary A Rudd (5), Emily G Rudd (4) and Alice Rudd (1).

In 1871, the family were in Islington, with Samms Sheppard Rudd (37), Mary Sarah Ann Rudd (36), Robert Cockare (19), Mary Ann Rudd (15), Emily Rudd (13), Alice Rudd (11), Fred Wm Rudd (7) and Albert Edwd Rudd (2).

In 1875 and 1876, Samms Sheppard Rudd was listed as the Licensee at the Globe, 58 New Compton Street WC2New Compton Street in the London Borough of Camden, runs to St Giles High Street in the north.

In 1881, apparently transcribed as Thomas Rudd (47) Licenced Victualler from Kentish Town, London, he was at the Prince of Wales, 17 Riley Street, Bermondsey SE1 with Mary A Rudd (43), Emily Rudd (23) Barmaid from Hoxton; Alice Rudd (21) Barmaid from Finsbury; Frederick Rudd (16) Clerk; Albert Rudd (12), Edwin Rudd (8) and Charles Rudd (5).

In 1882 and 1884, then The London 1891 Public House & Publican Directory and the Post Office Directory still place Samms Sheppard Rudd at the Prince of Wales, 17 Riley Street, Bermondsey SE1. Son Frederick William Rudd had taken this over by 1899 and his widow, Amelia, by 1901.

In 1891, Samms Sheppard Rudd (57) Retired Publican was living in Bayston Road, Hackney, with Mary Sarah Ann Rudd (56), Albert Edward Rudd (22), Charles Rudd (15) and Emma Nash (53) Sister, Widow. (There was a marriage, in 1865, in Shoreditch between Emma Walrond and Thomas Henry Nash, who had died, in Shoreditch, in 1876. I still cannot find birth registrations for either Mary Sarah Ann, nor Emma Walrond.)

In 1901, listed as James S Rudd (67) from Kentish Town, London, living on own means, was living in Albert Road, Croydon with Mary S Rudd (66). 

Mary Sarah Ann Rudd died, at 66, on 7 Jun 1901 (1901 J Quarter in CROYDON Volume 02A Page 173) and was buried at Brockley and Ladywell Cemeteries.

In 1911, Samms Sheppard Rudd (b. 1838), was once more living in Croydon, with his sister-in-law, Jane Walrond (69). [1]

Samms Sheppard Rudd died, aged 81, on 3 Dec 1915 (1915 D Quarter in CROYDON Volume 02A Page 470) and was buried along with his late wife, on 8 Dec 1915, also at Brockley and Ladywell Cemeteries.

[1] There are no birth/baptism records for Mary Sarah Ann nor Emma Walrond, however, their sister Jane Walrond b. 1841 S Quarter in SAINT GEORGE THE MARTYR SOUTHWARK Volume 04 Page 405 was the daughter of William Walrond and Mary Scoines, who married in Stepney, on 20 Sep 1824. Jane Walrond died, aged 75, in Croydon, in 1918.

Henry George Harcus and Susan Alice Tubb

Church of St. John the Divine, Chatham
cc-by-sa/2.0 - © Chris Whippet - geograph.org.uk/p/3850305
(St John's a Waterloo church built in 1821 and restructured in 1869, ceased being an active church in 1964, was then used as an art project and finally reopened in 2021.)

Henry George Harcus (b. 1848), son of John Harcus and Selina Patrick, married Susan Alice Tubb (b. 1852), daughter of Edward Tubb and Hannah Bussey and younger sister of Elizabeth Tubb, at St John's Church, Chatham, Kent, on 29 Dec 1872. Henry George Harcus, 24 at the time of the marriage, occupation was listed as Publican. Witnesses were Selina Mary Ann Caddy (Henry George's sister, who had married in 1870) and George Vokes. 

The couple don't seem to have had any children.

On 8 Mar 1875 at Maidstone Assizes, Susanah Alice Harcus stood accused of Perjury, but the bill was ignored. I don't know the details of the case. 

That same year, on 21 Oct 1875, at Maidstone Quarter Sessions, Henry Harcus was tried for "Stealing £1, the money of George Miles, at Chatham, on 12th September, 1875". The Verdict of the Jury was "No Bill", which generally means there was not enough evidence to indict him on the alleged crime.

In 1881, Henry Harcus (32) Eating house keeper and wife listed as Alice S Harcus (27) from Portsmouth, Hampshire, were living at 7, Middle Street, Gillingham (7 Middle St, Chatham, Gillingham, close to both Chatham Dockyard as well as Brompton Barracks and Kitchener Barracks).

Henry George Harcus died on 20 Feb 1887, aged 39 (1887 M Quarter in SAINT GEORGE IN THE EAST Volume 01C Page 276), at that time resident in St George in the East, Middlesex and was buried at Chatham, St Mary in the Chatham, Former St Mary's Burial Ground, now Town Hall Gardens. Records show he was interred in grave 319, with his father and sister. Now reinterred, on 5 Aug 1971, in the Borough Cemetery in Maidstone Road.

Susan Alice Harcus (34) Widow, daughter of Edward Tubb (deceased) married Samuel Walker (38), Batchelor, Commercial Traveller, son of Joseph Walker, Boot Manufacturer, at St Peter's Church, Cephas StreetMile End Old Town, on 27 Apr 1887. Witnesses were Joseph Walker and Elizabeth Salter.

Thursday, 25 December 2025

Robert Ware and Amelia Land

Church of St Thomas, Chevithorne
cc-by-sa/2.0 - © David Smith - geograph.org.uk/p/5109963

Robert Ware (b. 5 Jul 1869, bap. 25 Jul 1869 at St ThomasChevithorne) son of Thomas Ware and Harriet Ridgeway, married Amelia Land (b. 23 Oct 1869, bap. 14 Nov 1869), daughter of Robert Land and Amelia Ware at St Thomas, Chevithorne, on 25 Dec 1891. Witnesses were John Land and Emily Land.

Robert and Amelia had seven children:

  1. Robert Ware b. 1892 D Quarter in TIVERTON Volume 05B Page 385, bap. 1 Dec 1892 at St Peter's Church, Tiverton
  2. Ada Ware b. 1896 M Quarter in TIVERTON Volume 05B Page 395, bap. 20 Jan 1896 at St Peter's Church, Tiverton. Died, aged 3, in 1899 M Quarter in TIVERTON Volume 05B Page 306.
  3. Alfred Thomas Ware b. 10 Oct 1897 (1897 D Quarter in TIVERTON Volume 05B Page 387), bap. 28 Nov 1897 at St Peter's Church, Tiverton. Killed in Action on 29 Apr 1918 in Ypres, Belgium.
  4. Winifred May Ware b. 8 Nov 1899 (1899 D Quarter in TIVERTON Volume 05B Page 386), bap. 25 Dec 1899 at St Peter's Church, Tiverton
  5. Frederick John Ware b. 5 May 1901 (1901 J Quarter in TIVERTON Volume 05B Page 382), bap. 26 Jun 1901 at St Peter's Church, Tiverton
  6. Willie Ware b. 26 Aug 1902 (1902 D Quarter in TIVERTON Volume 05B Page 371), bap. 5 Oct 1902 at St Peter's Church, Tiverton
  7. Florence Edith Ware b. 14 Jan 1904 (1904 M Quarter in TIVERTON Volume 05B Page 387), bap. 14 Feb 1904 at St Peter's Church, Tiverton. Died aged 18 in 1922 J Quarter in TIVERTON Volume 05B Page 492
All of the birth registrations show the mother's maiden name as LAND, except in the case of Ada Ware, which is erroneously transcribed as LAAD.

On the baptism records of Robert, Ada and Alfred Thomas, the family's address was Martin's Lane - the alley off Barrington Street - and Robert's occupation was listed as Labourer. On all the subsequent baptisms from Winifred May's in 1899 onwards, their address was given as the Bampton Inn, Tiverton, with Robert's occupation listed as either Inn Keeper or Publican.

In 1901, at the New Bampton Inn, 29, Townsend, Tiverton were Robert Ware (30) Innkeeper; Amelia Ware (30), Robert Ware (8), Thomas Ware (3) and Winnie Ware (1) with Martin Burke (60) Groom from Ireland and George Reed (37) General Labourer from Tiverton, both Boarders.

The Western Times of 9 July 1907 reported that Mrs Amelia Ware, wife of Robert Ware gave evidence in a case brought against Frederick Wright (36), accused of stealing from a fellow servant at Knightshayes Court, as the previous week Wright had been lodging in her house, the Bampton Inn.

Robert Ware died, aged 40, on 4 Feb 1909 (1909 M Quarter in TIVERTON Volume 05B Page 311) and was buried on 8 Feb 1909 in Tiverton. 

In 1911, Amelia Ware (41) Charwoman, Widow, was living at 14 Belmont Road, Waterloo Cottages, Tiverton with Alfred Thomas Ware (13), Winifred Ware (11), Frederick John Ware (9), Willie Ware (8) and Florence Edith Ware (7). This record confirms that Amelia Ware had seven children, of whom six were then still alive and one had died. Robert Ware (18) Groom was a servant to William Stewart Harrison at Lansdown, Tiverton, Devon.

Private Alfred Thomas Ware #106769 Royal Army Medical Corps57th Field Ambulance (Field Ambulances in the First World War), was Killed in Action on 29 Apr 1918, presumably during the Battle of the Lys, also known as the Fourth Battle of Ypres, and is commemorated on Panel 160 of the Tyne Cot Memorial. Confusingly, the Commonwealth War Graves Commission have him listed as the son of the late Thomas Samuel and Harriet Ware (he was their grandson); as aged 34 - he was 20; and one record, his birthplace as London. We'll never know what information he gave when he enlisted nor where the errors occurred, but he was the son of Robert and Amelia Ware.

In 1921, Amelia Ware (52) Charwoman, Widow, was still living at 14, Waterloo Cottages, Belmont Road, Tiverton, with Winifred May Ware (21) Lace Folder for Heathcoat & Co; Florence Edith Ware (17) Dressmaker (Out of Work); Willie Ware (18) Dental Apprentice and Florence May Hill (23) General Domestic Servant, Boarder. Robert Ware (28) Groom, who had married in 1919, was living in Mill Street, Uffculme; Frederick John Ware (20) Bread Baker, was a Boarder at 22, Quay TerraceNewton Abbot.

In 1939, Amelia Ware, Old Age Pensioner, was still living, this time alone at 14 Waterloo Cottages Belmont Road, Tiverton. (Her birth date was listed on the 1939 register as 16 Oct 1869. On her baptism, it was quoted as 23 Oct 1869 and I'm more apt to believe that than any later recollection.)

Amelia Ware died, at 88, in 1957 D Qtr in EXETER Vol 07A Page 421.

Waterloo Cottages, Belmont Road, Tiverton
These cottages as numbers 8-14 Belmont Road are now Grade II listed.