Inherited Craziness
A place to share all the nuts found on my family tree

Showing posts with label Bermondsey. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Bermondsey. Show all posts

Friday 17 May 2024

William Thompson Wykes and Ada Doe

The Church of St. Nicholas, Deptford Green
cc-by-sa/2.0 - © David Lunn - geograph.org.uk/p/508224

William Thompson Wykes (b. 1869), son of William Wykes and Elizabeth Thompson, married Ada Doe (b. 26 May 1867 in Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk), daughter of George Doe and Susannah Gates, at St Nicholas Church, Deptford Green on 17 May 1894. Ada was born at Garland Street, Bury St Edmunds (PDF), where the family still lived in 1871, and was baptised on 20 Sep 1868 at St Edmundsbury Cathedral (parish church of St James).

William and Ada had three children:
  1. William Thompson Wykes b. 1895 M Quarter in GREENWICH Volume 01D Page 1073, bap. 22 May 1895 at St Paul's, Deptford
  2. Daisy Ann Elizabeth Wykes b. 15 Jan 1897 M Quarter in GREENWICH Volume 01D Page 1097
  3. Ada Florence Wykes b. 17 May 1905 J Quarter in SAINT OLAVE BERMONDSEY Volume 01D Page 232
All of the GRO birth registration have the mother's maiden name DOE.

In 1901, William Wykes (31) Light plater iron work, was at 5, Abinger Road, Deptford with Ada Wykes (33), William Wykes (6) and Daisy Wykes (4).

In 1911, William Wykes (41) Light iron worker was living at 12 Neckinger Street, Dockhead, Bermondsey with Ada Wykes (43), William Wykes (16) Printers layer on; Daisy Wykes (14) and Ada Wykes (5). 

William Thompson Wykes died, aged just 45, in 1915 M Quarter in GREENWICH Volume 01D Page 1586.

Private William Thompson Wykes 1st/22nd Bn London Regiment was killed in action, presumed on or since 30 Dec 1915 and is commemorated at the Loos Memorial, located near the commune of Loos-en-Gohelle, in the Pas-de-Calais département of France. The memorial lists 20,610 names of British and Commonwealth soldiers with no known grave who were killed in the area during and after the Battle of Loos, which started on 25 Sep 1915.

In 1921, Ada Wykes (53) Bath Attendant for Bermondsey Council was living at 35, St James's Road, Bermondsey, with Ada Wykes (16) Millinery and her brother, George Doe (51) from Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk, Out of Work. 

In 1939, Ada Wykes, Money Taker (Retired) (assume cashier, not criminal LOL) and Ada F Longhurst, Shop Assistant, were living at 23 Sylvan Grove, Peckham, with Stephen Mason in the household, presumably a lodger.

Ada Wykes died, aged 73, in 1940 D Qtr in CAMBERWELL Vol 01D 1299.

  • Daisy Ann Elizabeth Wykes married Frank George Collins (b. 10 Mar 1887 in Rotherhithe), son of Thomas Frederick Collins and Amelia Martha Roberts, in Southwark, in 1920. They had three children: Frank William Collins b. 1 Oct 1920; William Thomas Collins b. 6 Feb 1923 and Joan Emily Collins b. 1926. In 1939, Frank G Collins, Paint Warehouseman; Daisy A E Collins, Frank William Collins and William T Collins were living at 76 Harp Road, Ealing, where the couple remained for the rest of their lives. Frank George Collins died on 10 Aug 1973 and Daisy Ann Elizabeth Collins, on 17 Sep 1975.
  • Ada Florence Wykes married Frederick Richard Longhurst (b. 1 Feb 1912), son of Frederick William Longhurst and Hannah Eliza Warner, in Deptford, London, in 1935. In 1939, Ada F Longhurst was living with her mother, in Peckham, while Frederick Richard Longhurst was serving in the Royal Artillery. They had one son, born in 1941. Frederick Richard Longhurst died, in Lambeth, in 1992. Ada Florence Longhurst died, also in Lambeth, in 2002.

Friday 29 December 2023

Samms Sheppard Rudd and Mary Sarah Ann Walrond

St John the Evangelist Waterloo
cc-by-sa/2.0 - © PAUL FARMER - geograph.org.uk/p/1257876

Samms Sheppard Rudd (bap. 30 Nov 1834 at St Dunstan's, Stepney), son of Samms Rudd and Ann Johnson, married Mary Sarah Ann Walrond, who listed her father as William Walrond, Cabinet Maker [and Mary Scoines], at St John the Evangelist (St John's Church, Waterloo), on 29 Dec 1854

The couple had at least seven children:
  1. Mary Ann Rudd b. 2 Nov 1855 D Quarter in THE SHOREDITCH DISTRICT Volume 01C Page 98, bap. 28 Dec 1856 at St John the Baptist, Shoreditch (St John the Baptist, Hoxton). The family's address was in Aske Street (named for parish's benefactor, City alderman and haberdasher Robert Aske) and her father's occupation, Waiter.
  2. Emily Grace Rudd b. 8 Jul 1857 S Quarter in SHOREDITCH Volume 01C Page 152, bap. 1 Aug 1858 at St. James', Westminster.
  3. Alice Rudd b. 1859 S Quarter in SHOREDITCH Volume 01C Page 100
  4. Frederick William Rudd b. 1864 J Qtr in SHOREDITCH Vol 01C 83
  5. Albert Edward Rudd b. 1868 S Qtr in SHOREDITCH Vol 01C 75
  6. John Edwin Rudd b. 1872 D Qtr in HAMPSTEAD Vol 01A 603
  7. Charles Rudd b. 1876 M Qtr in ST GILES Vol 01B Page 652
On the birth registrations for Mary Ann, Alice, Frederick William, Albert Edward and John Edwin the mother's maiden name is listed as WALROND. On that for Emily Grace, it's WABRONE and for Charles, WABROUD. With such random variations, it's difficult to know if all their children are included.

In 1861, listed as Samuel S Rudd (26) Waiter from Kentish Town, Middlesex, was living at 41, New North Street, Shoreditch with Mary S Rudd (26), Mary A Rudd (5), Emily G Rudd (4) and Alice Rudd (1).

In 1871, the family were in Islington, with Samms Sheppard Rudd (37), Mary Sarah Ann Rudd (36), Robert Cockare (19), Mary Ann Rudd (15), Emily Rudd (13), Alice Rudd (11), Fred Wm Rudd (7) and Albert Edwd Rudd (2).

In 1875 and 1876, Samms Sheppard Rudd was listed as the Licensee at the Globe, 58 New Compton Street WC2New Compton Street in the London Borough of Camden, runs to St Giles High Street in the north.

In 1881, apparently transcribed as Thomas Rudd (47) Licenced Victualler from Kentish Town, London, he was at the Prince of Wales, 17 Riley Street, Bermondsey SE1 with Mary A Rudd (43), Emily Rudd (23) Barmaid from Hoxton; Alice Rudd (21) Barmaid from Finsbury; Frederick Rudd (16) Clerk; Albert Rudd (12), Edwin Rudd (8) and Charles Rudd (5).

In 1882 and 1884, then The London 1891 Public House & Publican Directory and the Post Office Directory still place Samms Sheppard Rudd at the Prince of Wales, 17 Riley Street, Bermondsey SE1. Son Frederick William Rudd had taken this over by 1899 and his widow, Amelia, by 1901.

In 1891, Samms Sheppard Rudd (57) Retired Publican was living in Bayston Road, Hackney, with Mary Sarah Ann Rudd (56), Albert Edward Rudd (22), Charles Rudd (15) and Emma Nash (53) Sister, Widow. (There was a marriage, in 1865, in Shoreditch between Emma Walrond and Thomas Henry Nash, who had died, in Shoreditch, in 1876. I still cannot find birth registrations for either Mary Sarah Ann, nor Emma Walrond.)

In 1901, listed as James S Rudd (67) from Kentish Town, London, living on own means, was living in Albert Road, Croydon with Mary S Rudd (66). 

Mary Sarah Ann Rudd died, at 66, on 7 Jun 1901 (1901 J Quarter in CROYDON Volume 02A Page 173) and was buried at Brockley and Ladywell Cemeteries.

In 1911, Samms Sheppard Rudd (b. 1838), was once more living in Croydon, with his sister-in-law, Jane Walrond (69). [1]

Samms Sheppard Rudd died, aged 81, on 3 Dec 1915 (1915 D Quarter in CROYDON Volume 02A Page 470) and was buried along with his late wife, on 8 Dec 1915, also at Brockley and Ladywell Cemeteries.

[1] There are no birth/baptism records for Mary Sarah Ann nor Emma Walrond, however, their sister Jane Walrond b. 1841 S Quarter in SAINT GEORGE THE MARTYR SOUTHWARK Volume 04 Page 405 was the daughter of William Walrond and Mary Scoines, who married in Stepney, on 20 Sep 1824. Jane Walrond died, aged 75, in Croydon, in 1918.

Saturday 23 December 2023

Henry George Case and Amelia Elizabeth Baker

Disused railway bridge over Rotherhithe New Road
cc-by-sa/2.0 - © Stephen Craven - geograph.org.uk/p/2426607

Henry George Case (b. 1851 on Alderney, Channel Islands) son of Henry Case and Elizabeth Symes married Amelia Elizabeth Baker, daughter of Charles Hoile Baker and Amelia Young, on 23 Dec 1877, at Christ Church, Watney Street, St. George in the East. Henry Case' address was 23 Cowley Street and his profession as Stone Mason. Witnesses were C R Baker (Amelia's older brother Charles Richard) and Sophia Baker, her younger sister.

Henry and Amelia had seven children:

  1. Henry Charles Case b. 1879 M Quarter in MILE END OLD TOWN Volume 01C Page 567
  2. Elizabeth Amelia Case b. 1880 S Quarter in MILE END OLD TOWN Volume 01C Page 518
  3. Frederick John Case b. 1882 J Quarter in MILE END OLD TOWN Volume 01C Page 561. Died in 1883 J Quarter in MILE END OLD TOWN Volume 01C Page 374
  4. Frederick William Case b. 1885 J Quarter in CAMBERWELL Vol 01D Page 878. Died in 1885 J Quarter in CAMBERWELL Vol 01D Page 493
  5. Ellen Rosina Case b. 1887 M Qtr in CAMBERWELL Vol 01D Page 989
  6. John Frederick Case b. 1889 S Quarter in CAMBERWELL Vol 1D Page 895. Died 1891 M Quarter in CAMBERWELL Vol 01D Page 673
  7. George Alfred Case b. 1891 S Qtr in CAMBERWELL Vol 01D 959
In 1881, Henry George Case (30) Oil & colorman (shop) from Alderney, Guernsey, Channel Islands, was living at 107, Ernest Street, Mile End Old Town with Emelia Eliz (sic) (26), Henry C Case (2) and Elizabeth A Case (1), as well as Matilda Pearson (29) Sewing Machinist, Lodger.

In 1891, Henry George Case (39) Oil & General Stores, from Guernsey, Channel Islands was in Bramcote Road, Camberwell, Southwark with Amelia E Case (36), Henry C Case (12), Elizabeth A Case (10) and Ellen R Case (4).

In 1901, Henry George Case (50) General Shop Keeper from Alderney, Channel Islands, was living at 80 Bramcote Road, Camberwell with Amelia E Case (47), Henry C Case (22), Elizabeth A Case (22), Ellen R Case (14), George A Case (9) and Christopher F Barden (sic) (13) Visitor. (Christopher Frederick Burden, b. 1888, was son of Amelia's sister, Sophia.)

In 1911, Henry George Case (60) Painter and Paperhanger from Alderney, Channel Islands, was living at 331 Rotherhithe New Road, Bermondsey with Amelia Elizabeth Case (58), George Alfred Case (19) Engineering Clerk; Elizabeth Amelia Case (30), Ellen Rosina Case (24) both Shirt Machinists; Edward M Leslie Mead (21) Boarder and Peter Washington (78) Widower, Retired Ship's Carpenter from Guernsey, Channel Islands, Visitor.

In 1921, George Henry Case (70) Stone Mason retired, was living at 23, Balham Hill, Wandsworth with Amelia Elizabeth Case (68), Elizabeth Amelia Case (41) and Elsie Whitford (34) Dressmaker from Guernsey, Boarder.

Amelia Elizabeth Case died, at 69, in 1922 J Qtr Vol 01D Page 666.

Henry George Case of 13 Lynette Avenue, Clapham, died, aged 79, on 28 Feb 1930 in Wandsworth and was buried on 6 Mar 1930 at Streatham Cemetery. Probate was granted on 1 Apr 1930 to Henry Charles Case, Law Stationer.

Sunday 29 October 2023

Samuel Heywood and Emma Eliza Horn

The Watch House, Bermondsey Street, SE1
cc-by-sa/2.0 - © Robin Webster - geograph.org.uk/p/5914221
On the corner with Abbey Street, a grade II listed building, described as early 18th century.

Samuel Heywood (b. 1865 in Bermondsey), son of William Haywood and Jane Harris, married Emma Eliza Horn (b. 1868 in St George in the East), daughter of John Horn and Emma Green, on 29 Oct 1888, in Newington, Southwark St Saviour. (William Haywood, a Tanner, was originally from Devonshire.)

In 1891, Samuel Haywood (26) General Labourer and Emma Haywood (23) were living in Abbey Street, Bermondsey. (The street takes its name from the former Bermondsey Priory that occupied this site until the Reformation.)

Samuel and Emma had one daughter: 
  1. Emma Edith Haywood b. 1892 J Quarter in SAINT OLAVE SOUTHWARK Volume 01D Page 233, but who sadly died in the same quarter.
Samuel Heywood died, at 36, in 1902 M Qtr in CROYDON Vol 02A 189.

In the 2nd Qtr of 1904, Emma Eliza Heywood remarried to William Henry Mann, at St Thomas, Stepney, that had stood in Arbour Square, Stepney.

William Henry Mann (b. 1 Apr 1863, bap. 31 May 1863 in Great Yarmouth, Norfolk), son of Charles Ditcham Mann, Sailmaker, and Ann Lee, was a widower when he married Emma Eliza Heywood. His first marriage, on 6 Jul 1887, at St Nicholas, Great Yarmouth, Norfolk (now Great Yarmouth Minster) was to Emma Eliza Jackson (b. 1866 in Medway, Kent (Chatham), daughter of William Jackson, Carpenter, and Maria Bratt. The first Mrs Emma Eliza Mann (née Jackson) had died, in 1904 M Quarter in POPLAR Volume 01C Page 328. That William Henry remarried within three months, was probably to provide care for his four children from his first marriage:
  1. William Henry Mann b. 1890 J Qtr in BETHNAL GREEN Vol 01C 236
  2. George Joseph Mann b. 23 Jun 1893 S Qtr in POPLAR Vol 01C 548
  3. Sarah Eliza Prudence Mann b. 1895 M Qtr in POPLAR Vol 01C 594
  4. Maria Louisa Julia Mann b. 7 Jun 1898 J Qtr in POPLAR Vol 01C 539
In 1911, William Henry Mann (48) Fishmonger from Great Yarmouth, Norfolk was living in Bow Common with the second Emma Eliza Mann (formerly Heywood, née Horn) (43) whose birthplace was curiously not listed (with the same two first names and only a two year difference in the birth years of his two wives, it would be easy to assume this was one person); Prudence Sarah Mann (16) and Maria Julia Mann (13), both born in Old Ford

Sarah Eliza Prudence Mann died, at 21, in 1916 M Quarter in POPLAR. 

Emma Eliza Mann (formerly Heywood, née Horn) died, at 48, on 24 May 1916 J Quarter in POPLAR Volume 01C Page 444. She was buried at Brockley and Ladywell Cemeteries, with her father, John Horn, and step-mother.

Private William Henry MannLancashire Fusiliers, son of William Henry Mann, of 78, Harley Rd, Great Yarmouth, died, aged 27, on 21 Mar 1918, the first day of the German spring offensive on the Western Front during the First World War. He is commemorated at the Pozières Memorial.

William Henry Mann died on 17 Mar 1939, in Great Yarmouth, Norfolk and left his effects to Maria Louisa Julia Mann and George Edward Todd.